For more information contact:

Bob Harty, Executive Director
Institute Communications and Public Affairs


ATLANTA (December 12, 2001) -- President George W. Bush today appointed G. Wayne Clough, President of the Georgia Institute of Technology, to his Presidential Committee on Science and Technology. Dr. Clough is one of 24 members of the prestigious board and is the first Georgia Tech representative to serve on the Council. Another Atlantan joining Dr. Clough on the Council is Dr. Walter E. Massey, President of Morehouse College. The President met with the Council for the first time today in the Roosevelt Room of the White House.

President G. Wayne Clough
[300dpi JPEG download = 928K]

"It’s a wonderful honor for Georgia Tech and very exciting for me professionally," said Dr. Clough. "We talk a great deal about the growing role that Georgia Tech has in shaping the technological future of our nation and the world. This committee affords me a unique opportunity to help represent our views in addressing the policies that set the national agenda. The issues we’ve been asked to address have never been more important at this time in our nation’s history. I’m very appreciative of the faith that President Bush has placed in this committee and I look forward to doing all I can to contribute."

"Dr. Clough also noted the importance of having two Atlanta representatives on the Council. "Walter Massey is highly regarded in Washington and has been instrumental in shaping national policy for years. Our ability to focus on the issue of research and technology transfer--through examples like the Georgia Research Alliance, Yamacraw, and the Cancer Initiative--will help us underscore the importance of research funding for economic development. There may be," said Clough, "no greater economic stimulus than federal investment in research and knowledge, and Dr. Massey and I will be able to relate GEORGIA’S successes to a national audience."

The President has asked the Council to address four specific issues:

  • The Science and Technology of Combating Terrorism;
  • Improving Energy Efficiency;
  • Federal investment in Science and Technology and its Economic Benefits; and
  • Infrastructure for the 21st Century.

The panel will be co-chaired by John H. Marbuger, III, the Director of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, and E. Floyd Kvamme, a partner in the high tech venture capital firm of Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers. The full roster of the Council is as follows:

Charles, J. Arntzen
Chair, Department of Plant Biology
Arizona State University
  Michael S. Dell
Chairman & CEO
Dell Computer Corporation
Norman R. Augustine
Former Chairman & CEO
Lockheed Martin Corporation
  Raul J. Fernandez
Dimension Data of North America
M. Kathleen Behrens
Managing Director
Robertson Stephens & Co.
  Marye Anne Fox
North Carolina State University
Eric Bloch
Corporate R&D Management Consultant
The Washington Advisory Group
  Martha Gilliland
University of Missouri-Kansas City
Ralph Gomory
Alfred P. Sloan Foundation
  E. Kenneth Nwabueze
Bernadine Healy
President & CEO
The American Red Cross
  Steven G. Papermaster
Powershift Group
Rober J. Herbold
Executive Vice President
Microsoft Corporation
  Luis M. Proenza
University of Akron
Barbara Kilberg
Northern Virginia Technology Council
  George Scalise
Semiconductor Industry Association
Walter E. Massey
Morehouse College
  Charles M. Vest
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Gordon E. Moore
Chairmain Emeritus
Intel Corporation

The Council met for the first timetoday in the White House Conference Center before meeting with President Bush at 3:00 p.m. For additional information, please check the White House Press Office at and the Morehouse College Web site at"

White House Press Office Official News Release

Morehouse College News & Publications

About President G. Wayne Clough