The Complete 801 Live at Manchester University (2001)

(Photographs courtesy of John Bottomley. Thanks, John. For more 801 photos, go here)
Album details


  • TNK (Tomorrow Never Knows)
  • Flight 19
  • Listen Now
  • Law and Order
  • Que
  • City of Light
  • Initial Speed
  • That Falling Feeling
  • Diamond Head
  • Out of the Blue
  • Remote Control
  • Miss Shapiro
  • You Really Got Me
Running time: 77' 38"

Featured musicians:

Phil Manzanera
Simon Ainley
Paul Thompson
Dave Skinner
Bill MacCormick
Andy Mackay
Kevin Godley
Lol Creme
About the album

In 1977 Roxy Music were taking their sabbatical. Never one to let the grass grow under his feet, Phil released the highly acclaimed 'Listen Now'. To promote the album, a band was put together featuring two of the musicians who had played and sung on it: Simon Ainley (lead vocals and guitar) and Bill MacCormick (bass and vocals). To this nucleus was added Roxy drummer Paul Thompson and Dave Skinner on keyboards and vocals (Dave then joined up with Roxy for the Manifesto tour).

During October and November, the new 801 toured the UK and, at Manchester University, they were joined onstage by Andy Mackay and 10cc's Kevin Godley and Lol Creme.

The gig, a raucous and exuberant affair, is captured here on a 'warts and all' live recording. Eschewing the temptation to re-do and overdub, 'Live at Manchester' is 'documentary' evidence of the band's tour.