1st & 2nd September 2006

   Home    About Birdsville What's On Racing Info For Visitors For Media


Racing Info

Birdsville Race Club

2006 Race Program

2005 Race Results

Racing History


Birdsville Race Club

From the President | CommitteeStaff & Volunteers | Who we benefit

Go to the Top of the page  From the President

Since 1882 local residents, horses, riders, families and friends have gathered in Birdsville for a two day race meeting.

Even in 2004 the spirit of this annual gathering has not changed except that the meeting has now evolved and grown into an internationally recognised major outback event.

Every year, with the generous financial support from our sponsors and visitors to the race meeting, the local race club committee, it's members and a dedicated group of volunteers work towards and plan for a successful and profitable meeting.

The committee recognises the importance of our sponsors and appreciates their continued support.

Infrastructure development for both trainers and visitors is a priority for the race club. In 2004, we completed the three year project to provide partial shade to all overnight horse stalls for trainers. In addition we have been able to supply the bookmakers and race visitors much needed shelter from the sun courtesy of a 1300 square metre shed. The race club is now working diligently towards improving the facilities for jockeys, stewards, judges, and media as well as a continual upgrade of the on course audio facilities. These projects are due for completion in early 2005.

Funds raised assist the Royal Flying Doctor Service and the Birdsville Clinic in providing medical care to residents living in and visitors to the region.

Derek Trapp
Birdsville Race Club Incorporated

Go to the Top of the page The Committee

President: Derek Trapp
Secretary: Ruth Doyle (Acting)
Kerri-Ann Gaffney (Acting)
Treasurer:  Jane Morton
Vice-Presidents: David Morton & Barry Gaffney

The Birdsville Race Club Committee can be contacted via the Wirrarri Information Centre: 
Phone +61 7 4656 3300
Fax +61 7 4656 3302

Staff and volunteers

The Birdsville Race Club wishes to acknowledge the many staff and volunteers who assist in making the races the great success that it is. Many staff involved have travelled more than 1000km's to offer their services.

If you would like to volunteer your services to help out during the race weekend then click here

Office Bearers

Executive Committee as above

Race Day Officials 2004

Stipendary Steward: Reid Sanders
Stewards Assistant: Kerry McCracken
Handicapper: QLD Racing Panel
Photo Finish: Toni Austin
Judges: Trevor Driver, John Secomb, John Neagle, M.Pridham
Clerk of the Scales: Phillip Manns
Timekeeper: Geoff Morton
Racecaller: Josh Fleming
Clerks of the Course: Rob Baker, John Schrader
Course Maintenance: Selwyn Kirstenfeldt
Stabling: David Brook
Starter: Larry Lewis
Starters Assistants: G.Cuffe, C.Gall, F.A.Lewis, P.Morton, Rodney Mobbs
Audio Visual: Nigel Davies
Vet: Rachel Wilson

Who we benefit

The health of the residents in and visitors to the Birdsville region remains the number one priority for the race club. Raising funds for the provision of medical services to the region was the primary reason for the establishment of the races in 1882 and funds raised continue to support the Royal Flying Doctor Service:


Copyright © 2006 - Birdsville Race Club Inc.
Email: info@birdsvilleraces.com
Site By: I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd