Contact Us
About Sussex County
Frequently Visited Areas
Home » About Our County » Government Structure
Sussex County Government Structure
Sussex County is governed by a five-member elected Council. There are five geographic districts within the county and each Council member is elected from their respected district and serves four-year terms. Candidates for the County Council must be at least 18 years old and residents of Sussex County.
Elected Officials
5 County Councilman
Clerk of the Peace
Recorder of Deeds
Register of Chancery
Responsibilities of the County Council include:
  • Establishing policies for the health, safety, and welfare of County residents
  • Adopting an annual budget for county government operations
  • Enacting plans for county growth, development, and employment.

County Council meetings are normally held every Tuesday at 10:00 a.m. with the exception of the second Tuesday of the month which is held at 6:30 p.m. The meetings take place in the Council Chambers, located on the Circle in the County Administrative Building, 2 The Circle, Georgetown, Delaware. Meetings are open to the public.

Sussex County Government is administered by the County Administrator, Robert L. Stickels, who was appointed by the County Council. The County Administrator implements the Council’s policies, oversees the preparation of the annual budget for the Council’s approval, and supervises more than 500 employees as of July 15th 2004.

The County Administrator supervises departments concerned with such vital areas as roads and utilities, public safety, courts, social services, health, planning, business development, zoning, and tax assessment and collection.
Graphical Representation of the Government's Structure

Contact Us | Copyright © Sussex County Council
Send comments to: Site Management