Big 12



  Printer-friendly format   Email this article

Oklahoma State Wins Fourth Straight NCAA Wrestling Title


Missouri's Ben Askren was named NWCA Most Outstanding Wrestler after he clinch the national title at 174 pounds.
OKLAHOMA CITY - Oklahoma State clinched its fourth consecutive, 34th overall, NCAA Wrestling team title in front of a crowd of 16,394 at the Ford Center in Oklahoma City. The Big 12 Conference was represented in the championship matches by six competitors at five weights and crowned four individual champions including Nate Gallick (141), Johny Hendricks (165), Ben Askren (174) and Jake Rosholt (197). Oklahoma's head coach Jake Spates was named NWCA Coach of the Year, while Missouri's Askren earned the NWCA Most Outstanding Wrestler award.

At 141 pounds, the top-seeded Gallick (Iowa State) met the No. 2 seed Teyon Ware for the ninth time in the pair's storied rivalry. Gallick struck early on a single-leg in the first period and fought off Ware's attempt to shake loose and scored the first points on a double-leg for an early 2-0 advantage. Ware followed with two escapes to begin the second period to tie the match at two. After Ware was cautioned to open the third period from the top position, Gallick exploded from the bottom for an escape and a 3-2 lead. Gallick was warned for stalling towards the end of the third period but Ware was unable to get a clean shot in a final second as Gallick took the match, 3-2. Gallick finished his senior season with a perfect record of 35-0 and a career mark of 106-23.

Hendricks of Oklahoma State successfully defended his title at 165 winning a 9-8 decision over previously undefeated and top-seeded Ryan Churella of Michigan. Hendricks was leading 4-3 in the second period when Churella got him in a cradle for a takedown and two near fall points at the buzzer to go up 7-4. Hendricks escaped and took Churella down on the edge of the mat with 30 seconds left to tie it up. With time running out Hendricks went for the win and scored a takedown with three seconds left in the third period.

At 174 pounds, Askren (Missouri) defeated No. 2 Jake Herbert of Northwestern by major decision, 14-2, to claim the first individual national title in the history of the Missouri wrestling. Askren's victory clinched a 45-0 season, the only undefeated season in the history of the Missouri wrestling program. Askren also set season records for falls (25), consecutive wins (45) and the record for most career falls at Missouri (61).

Defending national champion Rosholt of Oklahoma State defeated Penn State's Phil Davis at 197 pounds. Rosholt recorded a takedown and took Davis to his back for three near fall points to go up 5-0. Rosholt coasted from there and went on to defeat Davis, 10-3, for his third individual title. Rosholt is just the 15th three-time national champion in school history and 10th four-time All-American.

Team Standings
1. Oklahoma State 122.5

2. Minnesota 84.0
3. Oklahoma 80.5
4. Iowa 70.0
5. Cornell 62.0
6. Arizona State 61.5
7. Michigan 57.5
8. Edinboro 56.0
9. Lehigh 53.5
10. Penn State 53.5
--------------- -----
13. Iowa State 48.5
15. Missouri 45.0
16. Nebraska 40.5

Championship Match
125 pounds - No. 3 Joe Dubuque (Indiana) dec. No. 5 Troy Nickerson (Cornell), 8-3
133 pounds - No. 6 Matt Valenti (Penn) dec. No. 5 Chris Fleeger (Purdue), 3-2
141 pounds - No. 1 Nate Gallick (Iowa State) dec. No. 2 Teyon Ware (Oklahoma), 3-2
149 pounds - No. 1 Dustin Schlatter (Minnesota) dec. No. 2 Ty Eustice (Iowa), 4-0
157 pounds - No. 5 Ben Cherrington (Boise State) dec. No. 10 Brian Stith (Arizona State), 7-3
165 pounds - No. 2 Johny Hendricks (Oklahoma State) dec. No. 1 Ryan Churella (Michigan), 9-8
174 pounds - No. 1 Ben Askren (Missouri) dec. No. 2 Jake Herbert (Northwestern), 14-2
184 pounds - No. 5 Shane Webster (Oregon) dec. No. 2 Roger Kish (Minnesota), 3-2
197 pounds - No. 4 Jake Rosholt (Oklahoma State) dec. No. 6 Phil Davis (Penn State), 10-3
Heavyweight - No. 1 Cole Konrad (Minnesota) dec. No. 2 Steve Mocco (Oklahoma State), 5-2 2OT




Big 12 Wrestling