UCM - University of Central Missouri ESU - Emporia State University FHSU - Fort Hays State University MSSU - Missouri Southern State University MWSU - Missouri Western State University NWMSU - Northwest Missouri State University PSU - Pittsburg State University SBU - Southwest Baptist University TSU - Truman State University WU - Washburn University Home of the MIAA.com

Home of TheMIAA.comAbout The MIAAPhoto GalleryKen B Jones AwardMIAA SAACPost Season TournamentsMedia GuidesMIAA StoreSubscribe to the MIAA Mail ListContact Us
MIAA Historical Timeline

About The MIAA MIAA Members MIAA Historical Timeline

1912: Original Missouri Intercollegiate Athletic Association formed - Cape Girardeau State Teachers, Kirksville State Teachers, Maryville State Teachers, Springfield State Teachers, Warrensburg State Teachers, Central Coll., Central Wesleyan, Culver-Stockton, Drury, Missouri Valley, Missouri Wesleyan, Tarkio, Westminster, and William Jewell.

1924: The MIAA reorganized to include only the five regional state colleges - Central, Northwest, Northeast, Southwest & Southeast. Sports include football basketball & outdoor track and field.

1931: Tennis added as a conference sport.

1932: Indoor track added as an MIAA sport.

1934: Golf added as a conference sport.

1935: Missouri School of Mines (now Missouri-Rolla) joins the MIAA.

1957: MIAA joins the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) College Division.

1958: Cross country added as an MIAA sport.

1963: Southwest Missouri State's men's golf squad wins MIAA's first NCAA College Division championship.

1970: Lincoln University joins the MIAA.

1974: Southwest Missouri State wins the NCAA Division II Men's Cross Country Championship.

1980: University of Missouri-St. Louis joins the MIAA.

1981: Men's soccer added as a conference sport... Ken B. Jones is appointed as MIAA's first full-time commissioner... Southwest Missouri State leaves for NCAA Division I.

1982: The MIAA begins sponsoring championships in women's athletics.

1984: Central Missouri State becomes the first school in NCAA history to have its men's and women's basketball squads earn national championships in the same season... Southeast Missouri State also wins an NCAA Division II National Championship in men's cross country.

1985: Southeast Missouri State claims NCAA Division II Men's Indoor Track National Championship.

1986: Southwest Baptist University joins the MIAA.

1989: Missouri Southern State, Missouri Western State, Pittsburg State and Washburn join MIAA... Men's soccer championship suspended.

1991: Southeast Missouri State leaves for NCAA Division I... Emporia State joins the MIAA... MIAA establishes Sports Information Office... Pittsburg State, in just its third season as an NCAA Division II member, wins the Football National Championship with a 20-6 win over Jacksonville State.

1992: Missouri Southern State's softball squad, also in it's third season in Division II play, defeats California State-Hayward, 1-0, to win the national championship... Conference name changed to Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association.

1994: Central Missouri State knocks off Florida Southern, 14-9, to capture the NCAA Division II Baseball Championship... Men's soccer championship play resumes... First Ken B. Jones Award for MIAA Student-Athlete of the Year given.

1996: Missouri-St. Louis completes final season before moving to the Great Lakes Valley Conference... Northeast Missouri State changes its name to Truman State University.

1997: Ken B. Jones retires on June 30 after 16 years of service as commissioner to the conference... MIAA chief executive officers select former Metro Conference and Gulf South Conference commissioner Ralph McFillen as his successor... New MIAA office established in Overland Park, Kan.

1998: Northwest Missouri State became the first football team in NCAA Division II history to post a 15-0 record, as the Bearcats won their first national title in any sport with a 24-6 win over Carson-Newman (Tenn.).

1999: Lincoln forfeits membership in the MIAA at the conclusion of the 1998-99 academic year... Men's soccer championship discontinued... Women's soccer added as a championship sport... Northwest Missouri State wins the longest NCAA Championship football game at any level, defending the Division II National Championship with a 58-52, four-overtime win over Carson-Newman (Tenn.) at Florence, Ala.

2005: Missouri-Rolla leaves the MIAA.

2006: Fort Hays State University joins the MIAA. Central Missouri State University changes its name to University of Cental Missouri.

Home   Contact Us   About Us   Tournament   Awards   MIAA SAAC   Media Guides   MIAA Merchandise   Mail List  

Click here to subscribe to the MIAA Mail List
Click here to Order Tickets Now!!!Legend: ESU=Emporia State University; FHSU=Fort Hays State University; MSSU=Missouri Southern State University;
MWSU=Missouri Western State University; NWMSU=Northwest Missouri State University; PSU=Pittsburg State University;
SBU=Southwest Baptist University; TSU=Truman State University; UCM=University of Central Missouri; WU=Washburn University
*= MIAA Game. HC=Homecoming Game. ss=Split Squad.
All Times Central and are subject to change.

Men's Sports: Baseball    Basketball    Cross Country    Football    Golf    Tennis    Track & Field
Women's Sports: Basketball    Cross Country    Soccer    Softball    Tennis    Track & Field    Volleyball

Web Site Development and Service provided by Dale Ahle, Professional Services.
Copyright (c) 2000-2006 The MIAA and Dale Ahle, Professional Services.
All rights reserved.