

PRESS RELEASE NOVEMBER 25, 2006

Sherrybaby wins in Stockholm

The jury of 2006 has spoken, and presents all of the winners at the 17th Stockholm International Film Festival. For the second time in festival history, the desirable honorary award for best film is presented to a female director.

The Bronze Horse for Best Film 2006 goes to Sherrybaby by Laurie Collyer.

In the film we get to follow Sherry's (Maggie Gyllenhaal) struggle as she is released after serving a three-year jail sentence for a crime she committed as a 19-year-old heroin addict. Sherry does everything she can to prove to herself and the people around her that she can handle life outside the prison walls. However, drug problems and unresolved childhood issues stand in the way of the one thing she truly wants – to become a parent for the daughter she was once forced to leave. *Sherrybaby* is Laurie Collyer's feature film debut.

Press images from the film are available on the festival website, www.stockholmfilmfestival.se

Below is a complete list of all the winners of 2006.

Best film: Sherrybaby by Laurie Collyer

The jury's motivation: "A pure and heartbreaking work about survival and dignity. It takes you on a desperate quest for love, through a landscape of struggle, guilt and broken dreams which at times is hard to watch yet impossible to forget".

Best directorial debut: Daniel Sánchez Arévalo for Darkbluealmostblack

The jury's motivation: "A deeply humanistic film that is told with warmth, ease and elegance. This is storytelling at its very best with moving performances and exquisite visuals".

moving perjormances and exquisite visuais

Best actress: Maggie Gyllenhaal for *Sherrybaby*

The jury's motivation: "Vulnerable. True. Uncompromising. Her stunning performance hits the spectator hard and will set new standards for actors worldwide".

Best actor:

Ryan Gosling for Half Nelson

The jury's motivation: "With sincerity and charm he balances on the brim of the abyss with a sad smile, giving addiction a whole new face and his lost character human value".

Best screenplay:

Beatrix Christian for Jindabyne

The jury's motivation: "A mature and haunting story that not only divides a family, but cuts like a blunt knife through a whole society, exposing fear, prejudice and racism".

Best cinematography:

Anthony Dod Mantle for The Last King of Scotland

The jury's motivation:"Powerful images ranging from the delicate to the hard-hitting, which do not only take you back in time, but also stimulate all senses".

Best short film:

Adults Only by Joon Han Yeo

The jury's motivation:"A touching and sad reflection on life and death, executed in an inventive manner with beautiful images and music".

Star! Audience Award:

The Stockholm International Film Festival's audience award 2006 goes to *Little Miss Sunshine* by Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris.

1 km film 2006:

Amanda Adolfsson for Stilla Natt

The motivation of the 1 km film jury: "A film that exemplifies the joy of storytelling and a directorial sense that engages the audience in every scene. The visual and emotional impact is complete with an abundance of details and recognizable visceral elements and current events".

Honorable mention: *Göken* by John Belfrage and Joni Huttunen

"The form of the film is prefectly molded according to the content: great warmth, personal expression as well as a peculiar sense of humor. The eccentric subjects charm the audience with their unusual hobby and their uncanny sense of fashion".

Awards of the FIPRESCI jury

Best feature film:

Jindabyne by Ray Lawrence

The jury's motivation: "For a deeply structured and poetic portrayal of Australia's many faces".

Northern Light 2006: *URO* by Stefan Faldbakken

The jury's motivation: For a modern and original approach which turns

a classic crime drama into a picture of contemporary urban life.

Mobile Movies: The award for best Mobile Movie goes to a confident director who has

used the means available in a surprising and daring manner to create a warm and philosophic piece of entertaining animation. True to her vision while working with new technology, the Mobile Movies award presented

by Nokia Nseries goes to Malin Erixon for Together: Him and I.

ifestival Winner: Lars Emil Arnason for Untitled Short film

For a film combining low key acting, sharp cinematography and stylish settings to create a great comedy. Confident direction, relying on great knowledge in form and comic timing, has resulted in a true oddity with an equally claustrophobic and charming atmosphere. The ifestival Award

is presented by HP.

The Stockholm Lifetime Achievement Award 2006

The Lifetime Achievement Award of 2006 is presented to Swedish director Lasse Hallström. The motivation is as follows: One of Sweden's most beloved directors managed to take the step from Bullerby Village to Hollywood with retained humility. With a genuine feel for authenticity and a great understanding of the inner self, Hallström makes films that audiences worldwide have taken to heart. His work is driven by simplicity and an immediate presence, telling stories of alienation and human transformation.

The Stockholm Visionary Award 2006

The Stockholm Visionary Award of 2006 is presented to director Darren Aronofsky. The motivation is as follows: "After only three feature films, Darren Aronofsky has emerged as one of the most interesting filmmakers of our time. His storytelling is driven by passion; his unexpected narrative solutions break all cinematic conventions. Darren Aronofsky is a true visionary whose creative filmmaking inspires and captures, by taking the audience to places we never knew existed".

The festival jury of 2006

Christian Volckmann (director), Tine Grew Pfeiffer (producer), Maria Bonnevie (actress), Måns Mårlind (director) och Jockum Nordström (artist).

The FIPRESCI jury of 2006

Steve Ayorinde (The Punsch Newspaper), Tereza Brdeckova (Respekt), Maria Ulfsak (Eesti Ekspress, Postimees).

Press images: www.stockholmfilmfestival.se, click on "press" (username: press, password: 2006)

Press contacts

Elisabeth Somp, Press Manager +46 (0)70 594 82 00 (cell) presschef@stockholmfilmfestival.se Josefine Hådell, Press Secretary +46 (0)708 356 992 (cell) press@stockholmfilmfestival.se