Photo

Daughtry

Daughtry

RS: 2of 5 Stars Average User Rating: 4of 5 Stars

2006

Play View Daughtry's page on Rhapsody

The debut from former American Idol semifinalist Chris Daughtry makes one thing clear: Homeboy loves to rock. Unfortunately, Daughtry shares a weakness for emotional overspill with his fellow Idol alums. He wields his gruff, hair-flailing voice like a spandex-clad star on mammoth arena fare like "There and Back Again" and sleazy near-metal songs such as "What I Want," a rave-up featuring Slash on guitar. But Daughtry gives in to bombast on a series of giant, aching near-ballads, including "Over You" and "Gone," a dark, Nickelback-worthy cut that includes lines like "The day you turned on me is the day I died." Daughtry gets points for not courting soccer moms, but just because he can howl like a motherfucker doesn't mean he's not a cheeseball.

CHRISTIAN HOARD

(Posted: Nov 28, 2006)

Advertisement


How to Play This Album
  • Click the play button.

  • Register or enter your username and password.

  • Let the music play!

No commitment.
It's FREE.

 

Review 1 of 26

3 of 4 found this comment useful ( 75% )

disluvizurs writes:

5of 5 Stars

"howl like a motherfucker"?? ARE YOU KIDDING ME. I am a student of journalism and have written many MANY album reviews for papers, honestly, learn how to write a decent review about the music rather than your personal opinion of the artist without the music. This album was spectacular!! Every song hits a different mood, a different setting, and has powerful meanings. His voice is incredible and Chris Daughtry is going to be a huge success. 2 stars?? get over yourself.

Dec 8, 2006 14:41:15

Was this post useful?

Off Topic Report Abuse

Review 2 of 26

2 of 5 found this comment useful ( 40% )

Vox136 writes:

Not Rated

I had high hopes for this artist. I liked the sound of his voice and his choice of songs on Idol so I believed he was on his way to a breakout career. Unfortunately too many artists who can sing well think they can also write well. Chris Daughtry is a horrible songwriter and the only thing barely keeping this CD from a full out disaster is his voice. The lyrics are bad, the music is borrowed from all the pop rock bands from the past 15 years. If he is to salvage a career he needs to keep singing and stop writing.

Dec 8, 2006 13:23:13

Was this post useful?

Off Topic Report Abuse

Review 3 of 26

2 of 4 found this comment useful ( 50% )

puresoul writes:

1of 5 Stars

This album of daughtry is such a dissapointment on many levels.First it has all been done before.Nickleback creed fuel.Why strive for the same sound? What is it about the "new rockers" per sae that makes them want to copy and not create?Second the howling does get old about 2 cuts in.OUCH.After awhile-The whole album seems screamed on the same key. and finally the hooks and beat is predictable.You just know what is coming. more of the same ole same ole. it's a shame really Daughtry had a shot to be a contender. He missed.

Dec 8, 2006 05:35:47

Was this post useful?

Off Topic Report Abuse

Review 4 of 26

4 of 7 found this comment useful ( 57% )

angrylady writes:

5of 5 Stars

he's hot

Dec 7, 2006 17:13:41

Was this post useful?

Off Topic Report Abuse

Review 5 of 26

2 of 11 found this comment useful ( 18% )

donnelly83 writes:

Not Rated

'Bands' like Daughtry represent everything that is wrong with the music industry. One Nickelback is more than enough thanks very much.

Dec 5, 2006 13:23:04

Was this post useful?

Off Topic Report Abuse

Review 6 of 26

1 of 11 found this comment useful ( 9% )

mcsweezy writes:

1of 5 Stars

I totally disagree with the original reviewer. Daughtry doesn't even deserve 2 stars. It's pathetic. Just another example of what happens when a musician goes through the American Idol machine. He sucked on American Idol and he sucks on his CD. We don't need another Hinder/Nickelbackesque singer.

Dec 5, 2006 11:26:27

Was this post useful?

Off Topic Report Abuse

Review 7 of 26

4 of 5 found this comment useful ( 80% )

icik25 writes:

4of 5 Stars

It's always this way,only boring albums of someone who barely can sing and puts "extra" meaning to the lyrics gets good reviews. well this one is definitly no a 2 star album. great vocals and at least half songs are hits. my faves are "It's not over" and "All these lives".

Dec 4, 2006 08:58:30

Was this post useful?

Off Topic Report Abuse

Review 8 of 26

4 of 4 found this comment useful ( 100% )

icypeach420 writes:

5of 5 Stars

I purchased Daughtry's Cd the day it was released. I totally disagree with the reviews of the writer. The CD is very well put together, excellent writing! I am extremely excited and proud of the work! I can tell the CD is from the heart and personal. I was behind him all through Idol and was disappointed in him being elimated, but it was bittersweet too... because had Chris won he wouldnt have had the freedom and ability to do his own thing! I LOVE THE ALBUM, I can listen to every song on there without changing it! Rock on Daughtry!!! <3

Dec 3, 2006 16:05:53

Was this post useful?

Off Topic Report Abuse

Previous

Advertisement