Home > Faculty/Staff


In addition to the core faculty members who oversee research, educational and outreach programs, the Kroc Institute draws on more than 35 Notre Dame faculty fellows who form a network of peace scholars on campus.

Faculty directory

Scott Appleby, John M. Regan Jr. Director; Professor of History

David Cortright, President, Fourth Freedom Forum, Goshen, Indiana

Hal Culbertson, Associate Director for Communication and Finance

John Darby, Director of Research; Professor of Comparative Ethnic Studies

Jaleh Dashti-Gibson, Director of Academic Programs

Larissa Fast, Visiting Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology

Robert C. Johansen, Senior Fellow; Professor of Political Science

Asher Kaufman, Assistant Professor of History

John Paul Lederach, Professor of International Peacebuilding

George A. Lopez, Senior Fellow; Professor of Political Science

Patrick Mason, Coordinator of the Program in Religion, Conflict and Peacebuilding

A. Rashied Omar, Research Scholar of Islamic Studies and Peacebuilding

Daniel Philpott, Associate Professor of Political Science

Gerard F. Powers, Director of Policy Studies

Jackie Smith, Associate Professor of Sociology and Peace Studies

Peter Wallensteen, the Richard G. Starmann Research Professor of Peace Studies

Faculty fellows directory


Agustin Fuentes, Associate Professor
Rev. Patrick D. Gaffney, C.S.C., Associate Professor
Cynthia Mahmood, Associate Professor; Senior Fellow

Viva Bartkus, Associate Professor of Management
Lee A. Tavis, C. R. Smith Professor Emeritus of Business Administration; Director, Program on Multinational Managers and Developing Country Concern
Rev. Oliver F. Williams, C.S.C., Associate Professor of Management; Academic Director, Center for Ethics and Religious Values in Business

Classics/Middle East Studies
Asma Afsaruddin, Associate Professor

East Asian Languages and Literature
Lionel M. Jensen, Department Chair and Associate Professor; Concurrent Associate Professor of History

Mary Beckman, Associate Director, Academic Affairs & Research, Center for Social Concerns
Amitava Dutt, Professor
Teresa Ghilarducci, Professor; Director of the Higgins Labor Research Center
Denis A. Goulet, Professor Emeritus; William and Dorothy O'Neil Professor Emeritus in Education for Justice

Jennifer Warlick, Chair and Associate Professor
Charles K. Wilber, Professor Emeritus
Martin Wolfson, Associate Professor

Doris L. Bergen, Associate Professor
Paul M. Cobb, Assistant Professor
Emily L. Osborn, Assistant Professor
Richard B. Pierce, Carl E. Koch Assistant Professor; Chair of Africana Studies

Paolo G. Carozza, Associate Professor
Barbara J. Fick, Associate Professor

Teresa G. Phelps, Professor

Liberal Studies
Ruthann K. Johansen, Visiting Associate Professor; Concurrent Associate Professor of American Studies

Kristin Shrader-Frechette, O'Neill Professor of Philosophy; Concurrent Professor of Biological Sciences
James Sterba, Professor

Political Science
Kathleen Collins, Assistant Professor
Barbara M. Connolly, Assistant Professor
Fred R. Dallmayr, Packey J. Dee Professor, Professor of Philosophy
Alan K. Dowty, Professor Emeritus; Senior Associate for Middle East Studies
Michael J. Francis, Professor Emeritus
Frances Hagopian, Michael Grace III Associate Professor of Latin American Studies
Keir A. Lieber, Assistant Professor

Rev. William M. Lies, C.S.C., Executive Director of the Center for Social Concerns
Daniel A. Lindley III, Assistant Professor
Scott P. Mainwaring, Eugene and Helen Conley Professor; Director, Helen Kellogg Institute for International Studies
A. James McAdams, William M. Scholl Professor of International Affairs; Director, Nanovic Institute for European Studies
Naunihal Singh, Assistant Professor
A. Peter Walshe, Professor

E. Mark Cummings, Notre Dame Chair and Professor
Donald Pope-Davis, Professor; Associate Vice President and Associate Dean of Graduate Studies; Director, McNair Scholars Program

Romance Languages and Literature

Catherine Perry, Associate Professor of French and Francophone Studies

Daniel J. Myers, Chair and Professor
Andrew J. Weigert, Professor

Rev. Michael J. Baxter, C.S.C., Assistant Professor
Rev. David B. Burrell, C.S.C., Theodore M. Hesburgh C.S.C. Professor
Rev. Paul V. Kollman, C.S.C., Assistant Professor
Gabriel Said Reynolds, Assistant Professor
Maura A. Ryan, Associate Professor, Associate Provost
Todd D. Whitmore, Associate Professor; Director, Program in Catholic Social Tradition

Top of Page

Home > Faculty/Staff


The Joan B. Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies, University of Notre Dame
100 Hesburgh Center for International Studies · P.O. Box 639 · Notre Dame, IN 46556 USA
(574) 631 - 6970
Page last updated November 28, 2006
 Copyright © 2003