News and Articles
Little League E-News
Summer Camp
Little League Museum
Little League History
Little League Structure
Little League Divisions
Little League Worldwide
Special Programs
Why Little League?
Forms & Policies
Approved Equipment
Licensed Merchandise
Corporate Sponsors

Tony Gwynn To Be In Broadcast Booth
For Little League Baseball World Series

WILLIAMSPORT, Pa. (July 23, 2002) – Tony Gwynn, one of the best hitters in baseball history, will be an analyst for ABC’s 40th year of coverage of the Little League Baseball World Series. It will be Mr. Gwynn’s first visit to the world’s premier youth sporting event.

Mr. Gwynn joins veteran Little League Baseball World Series announcers Brent Musburger, Harold Reynolds, Jack Edwards, Dave Ryan and Tom Candiotti for this year’s tournament, and will be in the broadcast booth starting Aug. 21 for ESPN and ESPN2. Mr. Musburger, Mr. Reynolds and Mr. Gwynn will be ABC’s announcing team for the U.S. Championship (Aug. 24, 7:30 p.m.) and World Championship (Aug. 25, 6:30 p.m.). Both games will be televised live during prime time on ABC for the first time.

“Besides being one of the best students of baseball and hitting, Tony Gwynn is perhaps more importantly one of the finest gentlemen to ever play,” Stephen D. Keener, president and chief executive officer of Little League Baseball, said. “He is a fine role model for Little Leaguers to emulate, and we’re pleased he will be joining us.”

Mr. Gwynn, a 15-time all-star, retired following the 2001 season. He spent his entire career with the San Diego Padres, finishing with a.338 lifetime batting average. He batted at least .300 in 19 seasons, surpassing Honus Wagner’s previous record of 17, set from 1897 to 1913. He received the Roberto Clemente Man of the Year Award in 1999 for combining sportsmanship and community service with excellence on the field, the 1999 Lou Gehrig Memorial Award, the 1995 Branch Rickey Award, and was inducted into the World Sports Humanitarian Hall of Fame.

Eleven games of the Little League Baseball World Series games will be televised on ESPN and seven games will be televised on ESPN2, bringing the total televised games to 20. Previously, the highest number of televised games was 19 – last year.

In addition, ESPN2 will again carry all eight of the U.S. Regional Championship finals in the Little League Baseball Division. The regional finals have been televised by ESPN2 every year since 1997.

The semifinal and championship games of the Little League Softball World Series in Portland, Ore., the final game of the Junior League Baseball World Series in Taylor, Mich., and the final game of the Big League Softball World Series in Kalamazoo, Mich., also will be televised by ESPN2.

The state championship games in Little League Baseball for Connecticut, New Jersey and New York will be televised regionally by the YES Network, making a grand total of 36 Little League games to be televised nationally or on a wide regional basis in August – also the most in history.

A list of ABC’s announcers in previous World Series follows:

1963 Chris Schenkel
1964 Jim McKay, Bill Veeck, Sonny Fox
1965 Jim McKay, Jackie Robinson, Sonny Fox
1966 Jim McKay, Sonny Fox
1967 Jim McKay, Ted Williams
1968 Keith Jackson, Jim Pearsall
1969 Jim McKay, Mickey Mantle
1970 Jim McKay, Mickey Mantle
1971 Jim McKay, Mickey Mantle
1972 Bud Palmer, Mickey Mantle
1973 Keith Jackson
1974 Jim McKay, Carlton Fisk
1975 Keith Jackson, Bob Ueker
1976 Keith Jackson, Bob Gibson
1977 Al Michaels, Don Sutton
1978 Al Michaels, Brooks Robinson
1979 Mel Allen, Red Barber
1980 Al Michaels, Don Drysdale, Willie Stargell
1981 Jim McKay, Davey Lopes
1982 Jim McKay, Steve Stone
1983 Keith Jackson, Earl Weaver
1984 Curt Gowdy, Jim Palmer, Earl Weaver
1985 Jim McKay, Jim Palmer
1986 Al Trautwig, Johnny Bench, Lynn Swann
1987 Al Trautwig, Jim Palmer, Cheryl Miller, Becky Dixon
1988 Al Trautwig, Jim Palmer
1989 Al Trautwig, Jim Palmer
1990 Al Trautwig, Jim Palmer, Mike Adamle
1991 Brent Musburger, Jim Palmer, Julie Moran
1992 Brent Musburger, Jim Palmer, Julie Moran
1993 John Saunders, Jim Palmer, Maria Sansone
1994 John Saunders, Jim Palmer, Maria Sansone
1995 Terry Gannon, Jimmy Key, Maria Sansone
1996 Terry Gannon, Kirby Puckett
1997 Brent Musburger, Jim Palmer, Jimmy Roberts
1998 Brent Musburger, Jim Palmer, Jack Arute
1999 Terry Gannon, Harold Reynolds, Dave Ryan
2000 Brent Musburger, Harold Reynolds, Orel Hershiser, Dave Ryan
2001 Brent Musburger, Harold Reynolds, Orel Hershiser, Dave Ryan

© 2002, Little League Baseball Incorporated
Click here for more Little League copyright or trademark information.