Who We Are
Members' Directory
2006 LAFCA Awards
Previous Years'  
Contact Us
Members Only

PLEASE CONTACT: Michael Lawson, mPRm Public Relations (m) 213-280-2274



"Letters from Iwo Jima" was voted Best Picture of the Year, it was announced today by Henry Sheehan, President of the Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA). The runner up was "The Queen."

LAFCA's 32nd annual achievement awards ceremony will be held Sunday, January 14 at the Park Hyatt Hotel in Los Angeles. www.lafca.net

Other award winners are:

DIRECTOR: Paul Greengrass, "United 93"
Runner-up: Clint Eastwood, "Flags of our Fathers", “Letters from Iwo Jima”

ACTRESS: Helen Mirren, "The Queen"
Runner-up: Penelope Cruz, “Volver”

ACTOR: Tie – Sacha Baron Cohen, "Borat" &  Forest Whitaker, “The Last King of Scotland”

SCREENPLAY: "The Queen" by Peter Morgan
Runner-up: “Little Miss Sunshine” by Michael Arndt

SUPPORTING ACTRESS: Luminita Gheorghiu, "The Death of Mr. Lazarescu"
Runner-up: Jennifer Hudson, "Dreamgirls"

SUPPORTING ACTOR: Michael Sheen, "The Queen"
Runner-up: Sergi López, "Pan’s Labyrinth"

FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM: "The Lives of Others" directed by Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck
Runner-up: "Volver" directed by Pedro Almodóvar

DOCUMENTARY/NON-FICTION FILM: "An Inconvenient Truth" directed by Davis Guggenheim
Runner-up: "Darwin’s Nightmare" directed by Hubert Sauper

PRODUCTION DESIGN: Eugenio Caballero, "Pan’s Labyrinth"
Runner-up: Jim Clay, Veronica Falzon  & Geoffrey Kirkland, "Children of Men"

ANIMATION: “Happy Feet" (George Miller)
Runner-up: “Cars” (John Lasseter, Joe Ranft)

MUSIC: Alexandre Desplat, “The Painted Veil” and "The Queen"
Runner-up: Thomas Newman, "The Good German" and “Little Children”

CINEMATOGRAPHY: Emmanuel Lubezki, "Children of Men"
Runner-up: Tom Stern, "Flags of our Fathers” and “Letters from Iwo Jima"

 Michael Arndt (screenwriter), Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris (co-directors) – “Little Miss Sunshine”

CAREER ACHIEVEMENT: Robert Mulligan (previously announced)

 “Old Joy” directed by Kelly Reichardt & “In Between Days” directed by So Yong Kim

To Jean-Pierre Melville’s 1969 film “Army of Shadows” upon the occasion of its long-overdue U.S. release.

To Jonas Mekas for his contributions to American film culture as filmmaker, critic and co-founder of Anthology Film Archives.

Founded in 1975, The Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA) is comprised of Los Angeles-based, professional film critics working in the Los Angeles print and electronic media. Each December, LAFCA members vote on the year’s Achievement Awards, honoring screen excellence on both sides of the camera. Plaques of recognition are then presented to winners during LAFCA’s annual awards ceremony, held in mid-January.

Aside from honoring each year’s outstanding cinematic achievements, LAFCA has also made it a point to look back and pay tribute to distinguished industry veterans with its annual Career Achievement Award, which is announced in October, as well as to look forward by spotlighting fresh, promising talent with its annual New Generation Award. In addition, over the past three decades, LAFCA has sponsored and hosted numerous film panels and events and donated funds to various Los Angeles film organizations, especially where film preservation was concerned. LAFCA members have also collectively been vocal about taking up causes they have felt passionate about, from drafting formal protests against censorship and colorization to lending their support to controversial films.


32nd Annual
  Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards



Best Picture

"Letters from Iwo Jima"

Runner-up: "The Queen"

Best Director

Paul Greengrass ("United 93")

Runner-up: Clint Eastwood
("Flags of our Fathers",
 "Letters from Iwo Jima")

Best Actor

Sacha Baron Cohen

Forest Whitaker
 ("The Last King of Scotland")


Best Actress

Helen Mirren ("The Queen")

Runner-up: Penelope Cruz ("Volver")

Best Supporting Actor

Michael Sheen ("The Queen")

Runner-up: Sergi López ("Pan's Labyrinth")

Best Supporting Actress

Luminita Gheorghiu
("The Death of Mr. Lazarescu")

Runner-up: Jennifer Hudson ("Dreamgirls")

Best Screenplay

"The Queen" (Peter Morgan)

Runner-up: "Little Miss Sunshine"
 (Michael Arndt)

Best Cinematography

Emmanuel Lubezki
("Children of Men")

Runner-up: Tom Stern ("Flags of our Fathers" & "Letters from Iwo Jima")

Best Production Design

Eugenio Caballero ("Pan's Labyrinth")

Runner-up: Jim Clay, Veronica Falzon, & Geoffrey Kirkland
("Children of Men")

Best Music Score

 Alexandre Desplat
("The Painted Veil" & "The Queen")

Runner-up: Thomas Newman
("The Good German" & "Little Children")

Best Foreign-Language  Film

"The Lives of Others"
Directed by Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck

Runner-up: "Volver"
Directed by Pedro Almodóvar

Best Documentary/Non-Fiction Film

"An Inconvenient Truth"
Directed by Davis Guggenheim

Runner-up: "Darwin's Nightmare"
Directed by Herbert Sauper

Best Animation

"Happy Feet"
Directed by George Miller

Runner-up: "Cars"
Directed by John Lasseter & Joe Ranft

The Douglas Edwards Experimental/Independent Film/Video  Award

"Old Joy"
Directed by Kelly Reichardt


"In Between Days"
Directed by So Yong Kim

New Generation Award

Michael Arndt (screenwriter),
Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris
(co-directors) -- "Little Miss Sunshine"

Career Achievement Award

Robert Mulligan (previously announced)

Special Citations

To Jean-Pierre Melville's 1969 film "Army of Shadows" upon the occasion of its long-overdue U.S. release.

To Jonas Mekas for his contributions to American film culture as a filmmaker, critic, and co-founder of Anthology Film Archives.