State Council Competitions

The State Council conducts major competitions funded by literary bequests.

The State Council acknowledges the ongoing support from the family of the original benefactors.

The FAW Walter Stone Memorial Award 2006

Entries closed: 29 September 2006
A biennial competition for an unpublished biography, monograph or bibliography not less than 5,000 words on some aspect of Australian literature. A monetary prize plus medallion is offered. This prize is paid from a trust fund set up with a bequest by the late Jean Stone and member donations.
2006 Winner:  ‘Agnes Hamilton-Grey: A Life’ – Jill Dimond, NSW.

The FAW Jean Stone Award for Poetry 2006

Entries closed: 29 September 2006
Held biennially on the even year, for a poem or group of poems up to 50 lines. The prize of $300 plus medallion is paid from a trust fund established from friends and well-wishers of the late Jean Stone. 2006 Results

The FAW Marjorie Barnard Short Story Award

Named after the distinguished novelist who provided in her will for this biennial competition. $500 is offered as first prize for a short story of 3,000 words. Held on an uneven year.
2005 Winner: Jacqueline Winn, NSW – Once More with Feeling.

The FAW Hilarie Lindsay Young Writers' Poetry Awards 2006

Entries closed: 29 September 2006
Held annually for school children. Prizes for different ages are paid from the Hilarie Lindsay Trust Fund. Even year poetry, odd year prose. 2006 Results

FAW Isolated Writers Competition

Entries closed: 28 July 2006
Held annually and open only to financial members of the FAW Isolated Writers Regional. Four categories:

The  Wooden Horse Award

This is offered every year for the first professional publication by an FAW member. This is a small handcarved figure of a horse. There is no monetary prize.


Contact FAWNSW for more information:
Please refer to your Writers Voice bulletin for full competition details and Normal Competition Conditions.

©2005 Fellowship of Australian Writers NSW Inc. | Site designed & managed by Dri-Print Electronic Publishing