Home > ALP Members and Senators > Kevin Rudd - Member for Griffith

Kevin Rudd - Member for Griffith

Federal Labor Leader

Kevin Rudd - Member for Griffith Parliament House:
Tel:  (02) 6277 4022
Fax:  (02) 6277 8495
Email:  Kevin.Rudd.MP@aph.gov.au

Griffith Electorate Office:
630 Wynnum Road
Morningside, QLD, 4170
Tel:  (07) 3899 4031
Fax:  (07) 3899 5755

Postal Address:
PO Box 476A
Morningside, QLD, 4170

Web:  http://www.kevinrudd.com

Kevin Rudd has been the Federal Member for Griffith since being first elected in 1998. In 2001 Kevin was appointed to Federal Labor's Shadow Cabinet and on December 4 2006, the Federal Labor Caucus met for a leadership ballot. Kevin Rudd defeated Kim Beazley to become Federal Labor Leader and Leader of the Opposition.

Before entering Federal Parliament, Kevin joined the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade in 1981, working in the Australian Embassies in both Stockholm and Beijing. Upon returning to Australia, Kevin worked for the Department in a number of positions including the Policy Planning Bureau and was promoted to Assistant Secretary.

In 1988 Kevin took leave from the Department of Foreign Affairs to take up a position as Chief of Staff to the then Queensland State Opposition Leader, Wayne Goss. He remained Mr Goss' Chief of Staff after he was elected Premier in 1989. In 1992 Kevin was appointed Director-General of the Cabinet Office and he remained with the Queensland State Government until 1995.

After a period of working as a China Consultant with KPMG, Kevin was elected to the Federal Parliament as the Member for Griffith in the House of Representatives in 1998 and was re-elected in 2001 and 2004 with an increased vote on both occasions.

Kevin is married to Therese, who manages her own employment solutions business. Therese and Kevin live with their three children - Jessica, Nicholas and Marcus - at Norman Park on Brisbane's Southside.

Electorate Profile - Griffith
Click for Larger Map

Larger image

State: Queensland (Inner Metropolitan)

Name: Named after Sir Samuel Griffith (1845–1920), Premier of Queensland (1883–1888 and 1890–1893) and Chief Justice of the High Court of Australia (1903–1919).

Area and Location Description: It covers an area of approximately 59 sq km of the southern Brisbane suburban area.

The main suburbs include Annerley (part), Balmoral, Bulimba, Camp Hill, Cannon Hill (part), Carina (part), Carina Heights, Coorparoo, Dutton Park, East Brisbane, Fairfield, Greenslopes, Highgate Hill, Hawthorne, Holland Park, Holland Park West, Kangaroo Point, Morningside, Mount Gravatt East (part), Murarrie (part), Norman Park, South Brisbane, Tarragindi (part), West End, Woolloongabba and Yeronga (part).

Products/Industries of the area: The area is mostly residential with some food processing and light industry. It is also the location of the world famous Brisbane Cricket Ground known as "The Gabba".

First Proclaimed/Election: 1934


  • Kevin Rudd (ALP) 1998-
  • G McDougall (LP) 1996-98
  • B C Humphreys (ALP) 1977-96
  • D M Cameron (LP) 1966-77
  • W C Coutts (ALP) 1961-66
  • A A Chresby (LP) 1958-61
  • W C Coutts (ALP) 1954-58
  • D R Berry (LP) 1949-54
  • W P Conelan (ALP) 1939-49
  • F M Baker (FLP) 1934-39