No Poll Available

Untitled Document

Club History

Club History

Since 1908… A Foundation Club

As a foundation club and one of great tradition, the Sydney Roosters boast a long and illustrious sporting history.
The Roosters (formerly Eastern Suburbs and Sydney City Roosters) entered the inaugural New South Wales Rugby League Premiership in 1908, competing for the Agricultural Shield, the first ever shield in the competition. The shield was awarded to Eastern Suburbs when they won three of the first six premierships contested (1911, 1912, 1913).


The history of the Sydney Roosters is filled with remarkable achievements and legendary Rugby League personalities. The Roosters have produced numerous Australian Rugby League legends, including "Dally" Messenger, Dave Brown, Jack Gibson, Arthur Beetson, Ron Coote, Russell Fairfax and Brad Fittler.
The Roosters have captured 12 First Grade Premierships, with our champion teams of the 1930's and 1974-1975 being ranked as two of the greatest sides ever assembled.

Corporate Identity

The Roosters boast a successful corporately based Board of Directors and are supported by many of the country's major corporations, including Samsung, City Ford, Mortgage House, Bartercard and Easts Leagues Club.
Over the past two years the Sydney Roosters corporate support has increased substantially, and the club has made it a priority to take the companies on board successfully into the new millennium.

Current Players

Under Ricky Stuart’s guidance, the Sydney Roosters have shrugged off the infamous ‘latte set’ and ‘transit lounge’ tags that plagued them during the 1990s to forge a reputation as one of the NRL’s most feared and competitive sides. Since arriving at Bondi Junction in 2002, no less than eight players have gone on to play representative football under Stuart’s tutelage.

In his first three years as a first grade coach, Stuart took the side to three consecutive grand finals, winning the premiership in 2002.
2005 has seen the emergence of the Roosters’ generation next – with exciting youngsters Jamie Soward, Iosia Soliola, Heath L’Estrange, Mickey Paea and Michael Lett all proving they have what it takes to make it in the big time.

Each of the six youngsters have progressed through the club’s gun lower grade sides on the back of quality coaching from Jim Dymock and Shane Flanagan. And with high profile recruits Braith Anasta and Ashley Harrison set to join the club in 2006 and link up with Australian stars Anthony Minichiello, Craig Wing and Craig Fitzgibbon, the future for the Sydney Roosters appears brighter than ever.

The Future…

In order to continue and prolong our great tradition, the club emerged in 2000 with our new identity of the Sydney Roosters Rugby League Football Club. This name change has allowed us to more accurately reflect our true position as the team of the great city of SYDNEY!
As the game enters an exciting and revolutionary phase, the Sydney Roosters will continue to be one of the strongest clubs in the National Rugby League competition, both on and off the field.

Club History

Entered premiership:
1908 (Foundation Member)
(known as Eastern Suburbs 1908-1994)
(known as Sydney City Roosters 1994-1999)

Club Colours:
Red, White and Blue


Home Ground:
Aussie Stadium

Major Sponsor: Samsung Electronics



Samsung Australia
© Sydney Roosters Rugby League Football Club 2005. Privacy Policy.
East Leagues Club Eurolight
4mation Technologies Website & Software Development Sydney