Click for details about IABA 
Click for contact details 
Click for links to other boxing websites 
Click for latest IABA boxing news 
Click for latest IABA boxing news 
Click for latest IABA boxing news 
Click here to view photos 
Over ninety years of
Irish Amateur Boxing
Click for a full list of Irish boxing club details
Click for a list of IABA representatives
High Performance Section
The Irish Amateur Boxing Association was formed in 1911 following a meeting in Dublin. The President of the Association, General W.R.E. Murphy, the trustees and officers, in 1937 decided it was time for the Association to have a boxing stadium of its own. The vision of these enthusiasts materialised in 1939 when the National Stadium was officially opened by the Minister of Defence, Mr. Frank Aiken, T.D.
The Irish Amateur Boxing Association are very proud of the fact that they are the only amateur boxing association to have a custom built stadium which they manage and control. the foresight and vision of these gentlemen is to be admired.
Another item of interest is that three generation of the Jones family have been involved in the affairs of the Irish Amateur Boxing Association: Alfred Jones, Trustee and Architect; his son, Felix Jones, Architect and President of the Irish Amateur Boxing Association for over twenty years; and finally, grandson, Alfred Jones, Architect, in charge of the refurbishment of the stadium, and a son of Felix Jones.
Set out hereunder are details of medals won at major championships by Irish boxers:
European Senior Championships
Name of BoxerWeightChampionshipYearVenueMedal
Jimmy IngleFlyEuropeans1939DublinGold
Paddy DowdallFeatherEuropeans1939DublinGold
Ch. EvendenWelterEuropeans1939DublinBronze
Gear O'ColmainHeavyEuropeans1947DublinGold
Peter MaguireFeatherEuropeans1947DublinSilver
Eddie CantwellWelterEuropeans1947DublinBronze
Maxie McCullaghLightEuropeans1949OsloGold
Dave ConnellFeatherEuropeans1949OsloBronze
Terry MilliganLight WelterEuropeans1951MilanBronze
John KellyBantamEuropeans1951MilanSilver
Dave ConnellLightEuropeans1951MilanBronze
Terry MilliganLight WelterEuropeans1953WarsawSilver
John McNallyBantamEuropeans1953WarsawBronze
Fred TiedtWelterEuropeans1957PragueBronze
Adam McCleanFlyEuropeans1959LucerneBronze
Harry PerryWelterEuropeans1959LucerneBronze
Colm McCoyMiddleEuropeans1959LucerneBronze
Jim McCourtLightEuropeans1965BerlinBronze
Mick DowlingBantamEuropeans1969BucharestBronze
Neil McLoughlinFlyEuropeans1971MadridBronze
Mick DowlingBantamEuropeans1971MadridBronze
Bren McCarthyFeatherEuropeans1971MadridBronze
Phil SutcliffeLight FlyEuropeans1977HalleBronze
Phil SutcliffeFlyEuropeans1979CologneBronze
Gerry HawkinsLight FlyEuropeans1981TampereBronze
Kieran JoyceWelterEuropeans1983VarnaBronze
Sean CaseyFlyEuropeans1985BudapestBronze
Paul GriffinFeatherEuropeans1991GothenburgGold
Paul GriffinFeatherEuropeans1993BursaBronze
Damaen KellyFlyEuropeans1996VeljeBronze
Brian MageeMiddleEuropeans1998MinskSilver
World Senior Championships
Name of BoxerWeightChampionshipYearVenueMedal
Tommy CorrLight MiddleWorld Seniors1982MunichBronze
Michael CarruthLight WelterWorld Seniors1989MoscowBronze
Damaen KellyFlyWorld Seniors1993TampereBronze
Stephen KirkLight HeavyWorld Seniors1997BudapestBronze
James MooreWelterWorld Seniors2001BelfastBronze
For details of Olympic Medal Winners, click hereOlympics-performances
In the 1937 European Senior Championships, Frankie Kerr was the victim of a decision which the Press described as "amazing".

In his contest with the reigning Olympic Champion Sergo (Italy), Kerr, in the eyes of everybody in the Milan arena (except the judges), won the contest comfortably.

This result so offended public opinion that Kerr was honoured by the European Body by being presented with a special award as the Best Boxer of the Championship.

Compiled by: Joe Kirwan, 7th February 2001
Irish Amateur Boxing Association
National Stadium,
South Circular Road,
Dublin 8, Ireland

Tel: +353-1-453 3371 / 454 3525
Fax: +353-1-454 0777