Skip to navigation Skip to content
Image ofheadnav-plusImage ofheadnav-minusImage ofheadnav-textsize

In your neighbourhood

Type in your postcode for a guide to local services


Kent County Council
County Hall
Kent ME14 1XQ

Image oficon-tel24 hour helpline
08458 247 247

Image oficon-email county.hall

Council and democracy

Title graphic for the Council and democracy section

Kent County Council works closely with 12 district councils, one unitary authority (Medway Council) and more than 300 town and parish councils. Each has specific responsibilities and some are shared, but all work in partnership to ensure the citizens of Kent are well-represented overall. The county council has 84 elected councillors who each have a dual role, attending to countywide concerns as well as to the local needs and interests of their constituents. The Chief Executive and his team of chief officers are responsible for the day-to-day running of the council.

At national level, Kent is represented in Parliament by 14 MPs, plus three in Medway, and is part of the South East region of the UK that elects a total of 10 members to the European Parliament.

Useful websites

Print only content. Copyright 2005.