Search SIGMOD Join SIGMOD Feedback What's New Home
SIGMOD/PODS Conferences
DBLP Bibliography
SIGMOD Digital Symposium Collection
SIGMOD Anthology
SIGMOD Digital Review
Industry Pages
The PODS Pages
Post/Read DB World Messages

SIGMOD Edgar F. Codd Innovations Award

For innovative and highly significant contributions of enduring value to the development, understanding, or use of database systems and databases. Until 2003, this award was known as the "SIGMOD Innovations Award." In 2004, SIGMOD, with the unanimous approval of ACM Council, decided to rename the award to honor Dr. E.F. (Ted) Codd (1923 - 2003) who invented the relational data model and was responsible for the significant development of the database field as a scientific discipline.

Jeffrey D. Ullman [citation]
Michael Carey [citation]
Ronald Fagin [citation]
Don Chamberlin [citation]
Patricia Selinger [bio]
Rudolf Bayer [bio]
Rakesh Agrawal [bio]
Hector Garcia-Molina [bio]
Serge Abiteboul [bio]
David Maier [bio]
C. Mohan [bio]
David DeWitt [bio]
Philip Bernstein [bio]
Jim Gray [bio]
Michael Stonebraker [bio]

SIGMOD Contributions Award

For significant contributions to the field of database systems through research funding, education, and professional services. Recipients of the award are the following:

Tamer Özsu [citation]
Hongjun Lu [citation]
Surajit Chaudhuri [citation]
Michael Ley [citation]
Richard Snodgrass [citation]
Daniel Rosenkrantz [bio]
Laura Haas [bio] Michael Carey [bio]
Raghu Ramakrishnan [bio]
Won Kim [bio]
Avi Silberschatz [bio]
Jeffrey Ullman [bio]
Yahiko Kambayashi [bio] Gio Wiederhold [bio]
Maria Zemankova [bio]

SIGMOD Best Paper Award

Recipients of the award are the following:

2006 To Search or to Crawl? Towards a Query Optimizer for Text-Centric Tasks. Panagiotis Ipeirotis, Eugene Agichtein, Pranay Jain, and Luis Gravano
2004 Indexing Spatio-Temporal Trajectories with Chebyshev Polynomials. Raymond Ng and Yuhan Cai
2003 Spreadsheets in RDBMS for OLAP. Abhinav Gupta, Andy Witkowski, Gregory Dorman, Srikanth Bellamkonda, Tolga Bozkaya, Nathan Folkert, and Lei Sheng
2001 Locally Adaptive Dimensionality Deduction for Indexing Large Time Series Databases. Eamonn Keogh, Kaushik Chakrabarti, Sharad Mehrotra, and Michael Pazzani
2000 XMill: An Efficient Compressor for XML data. Hartmut Liefke and Dan Suciu
1999 DynaMat: A Dynamic View Management System for Data Warehouses. Yannis Kotidis and Nick Roussopoulos
1998 Efficient Transparent Application Recovery in Client Server Information Systems. David Lomet and Gerhard Weikum
Integrating Association Rule Mining with Relational Database Systems: Alternatives and Implications. Sunita Sarawagi, Shiby Thomas, and Rakesh Agrawal
1997 Fast Parallel Similarity Search in Multimedia Databases. Stefan Berchtold, Christian Bohm, Bernhard Braunmuller, Daniel Keim, and Hans Peter Kriegel
1996 Implementing Data Cubes Efficiently. Venky Harinarayan, Anand Rajaraman, and Jeffrey Ullman
1994 Fast Subsequence Matching in Time-Series Databases. Christos Faloutsos, M. Ranganathan, and Yannis Manolopoulos
AlphaSort: A RISC Machine Sort. Chris Nyberg, Tom Barclay, Zarka Cvetanovic, Jim Gray, and David Lomet

SIGMOD Test of Time Award

The ACM SIGMOD Test of Time Award recognizes the best paper from the SIGMOD proceedings 10 years prior (i.e., for 1998 the 1988 proceedings will be consulted), based on the criterion of identifying the paper that has had the most impact (research, products, methodology) over the intervening decade. This paper is chosen by the SIGMOD Awards Committee.

Recipients of the award are the following:

2006 BIRCH: An Efficient Data Clustering Method for Very Large Databases. Tian Zhang, Raghu Ramakrishnan, and Miron Livny [award abstract]
Implementing Data Cubes Efficiently. Venky Harinarayan, Anand Rajaraman, and Jeffrey D. Ullman [award abstract]
2005 View Maintenance in a Warehousing Environment. Yue Zhuge, Hector Garcia-Molina, Jennifer Widom, Joachim Hammer
2004 From Structured Documents to Novel Query Facilities. Vassilis Christophides, Serge Abiteboul, Sophie Cluet, and Michel Scholl [award abstract]
Shoring Up Persistent Applications. Michael J. Carey, David J. DeWitt, Michael J. Franklin, Nancy E. Hall, Mark L. McAuliffe, Jeffrey F. Naughton, Daniel T. Schuh, Marvin H. Solomon, C. K. Tan, Odysseas G. Tsatalos, Seth J. White, and Michael J. Zwilling [award abstract]
2003 Mining Association Rules Between Sets of Items in Large Databases. Rakesh Agrawal, Tomasz Imielinski, and Arun Swami [award abstract]
2002 Extensible/Rule Based Query Rewrite Optimization in Starburst. H. Pirahesh, J. M. Hellerstein, and W. Hasan
Querying Object-Oriented Databases. M. Kifer, W. Kim, and Y. Sagiv
2000 Encapsulation of Parallelism in the Volcano Query Processing System. Goetz Graefe
Set-Oriented Production Rules in Relational Database Systems. Jennifer Widom and Shel Finkelstein
1999 F-Logic: A Higher-Order Language for Reasoning About Objects, Inheritance, and Scheme. Michael Kifer and Georg Lausen
A Case for Redundant Arrays of Inexpensive Disks (RAID). David A. Patterson, Garth A. Gibson, and Randy H. Katz

SIGMOD Doctoral Dissertation Award

The annual ACM SIGMOD Doctoral Dissertation Award, inaugurated in 2006, recognizes excellent research by doctoral candidates in the database field.

2006 Winner: Gerome Miklau (advisor: Dan Suciu), University of Washington.
Runners-up: Marcelo Arenas (advisor: Leonid Libkin), University of Toronto; Yanlei Diao (advisor: Michael Franklin), University of California at Berkeley.

SIGMOD Undergraduate Award

The ACM Special Interest Group on Management of Data (SIGMOD) wants undergraduate students who have an interest in database systems to experience the cutting edge research presented at the ACM SIGMOD/PODS Joint Conferencess. In order to help those undergraduate students attend the conference, hence encouraging them to pursue a career related to database research, the ACM SIGMOD Undergraduate Scholarship Program was introduced by SIGMOD in 2000.

2005 Arpit Jain, IIT Bombay (India)
Jaekyun Seok, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (Korea)
Naju Mancheril, Carnegie Mellon University (USA)
Linus Liang, University of California, Berkeley (USA)
Derek Dalrymple, University of Maryland, Baltimore County (USA)
2004 Andrei Arion, France
Anoop Shankar, Canada
Gaurav Pandey, India
Shashank Pandit, India
Shaveen Garg, India
2003 Eric Chu, Univ. of Washington
Anurag Maskey, Brandeis Univ.
Nicoleta Preda, Politechnic Univ. of Bucharest
Ping Wu, Fudan Univ.
2002 Daniel J. Abadi
Wu Cen
Justin Rosenstein
Yaling Pei
2001 Jason Chionh
Nilesh Dalvi
Antonio Gomez
Markus Wawryniuk
Sumit Kumar Sanghai
2000 Keiji Oenoki
Matjaz Planinsic
Gaurav Bhalota
Ryan Huebsch
Antonio Dona

SIGMOD Special Service Award

In recognition of volunteer efforts to the database field. Recipients of the award are the following:

Michael Ley


© 2000 Association for Computing Machinery