The North American Society for the Study of Romanticism was founded in 1991 at The University of Western Ontario. NASSR was established as a forum for the discussion of a wide variety of theoretical approaches to Romantic works of all genres and disciplines and of subjects relevant to the international and interdisciplinary study of Romanticism. NASSR members from North America, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Australia work in a wide range of disciplines, including History, Art History, Women's Studies, Philosophy, Music, Political Economy, and Literature; members' interests encompass American, Canadian, English, French, German, Irish, Italian, Russian, Scottish, and Spanish Romanticisms.  

Executive Committee:

Angela Esterhammer (University of Western Ontario/Zurich)
Joel Faflak (University of Western Ontario)
Tilottama Rajan (University of Western Ontario)
Julia M. Wright (Dalhousie University)
Peter Melville (University of Winnipeg) - Secretary Treasurer

Josh Lambier (University of Western Ontario) - Newsletter Editor

Ex Officio:
Frederick Burwick (University of California, Los Angeles)
Dino Felluga (Purdue University)
Dan White (University of Toronto)

Advisory Board:
Alan Bewell, Chair (University of Toronto) To Dec. '06
David Ferris (University of Colorado, Boulder) To Dec. '07
Nicholas Halmi (University of Washington)To Dec. '08
Sonia Hofkosh (Tufts University) To Dec. '06
Jacqueline Labbe (University of Warwick) To Dec. '08
Mark Lussier (Arizona State University) To Dec. '08
Michael Macovski (Georgetown University) To Dec. '07
Jan Plug (University of Western Ontario) To Dec. '06
Karen Weisman (University of Toronto) To Dec. '07

NASSR Conference Liaisons:
NASSR 2008 -
University of Toronto - "Romantic Diversity"
     • Tilottama Rajan (University of Western Ontario)
     • Angela Esterhammer (University of Western Ontario/Zurich)
     • Thomas Pfau, AB Liaison (Duke University)

For Past Advisory Boards click here.