Fault trace at Putatan, Muntinlupa City

The Valley Fault System

The Valley Fault System (VFS), formerly called Marikina Valley Fault System (MVFS), has been recognized since 1924 through studies conducted on Philippine geology and mineral resources. Since then Filipino and foreign researchers have studied this zone of weakness where blocks on the crust of the earth have moved past each other by sliding. Such a zone of weakness where movements have occurred is technically called a fault.

Consisting of two major faults - the East Valley Fault (EVF) and the West Valley Fault (WVF) - the VFS is located about 5 kilometers east of the center of Metropolitan Manila. (Kasaysayan, The Story of the Filipino People, vol.1, p.98)

VFS Quadrangle Maps (1:50,000)

VFS Quadrangle Maps (1:10,000)

Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology
C. P. Garcia Ave., UP Campus-Diliman
Quezon City 1101 Philippines