History of the Award

The first Australian Father of the Year was awarded in 1957 and went to Sir Edward Hallstrom Kt. F.R.Z.S. an Industrialist and philanthropist who was integral in the establishment of Taronga Zoo. Since then, the Australian Fathers Day Council has continued to award an inspirational role model for Fathers and children of Australia.

The Council was established by the Chairman of David Jones, who on a visit to New York witnessed a Father of the Year lunch and was so impressed by the idea he formed The Father's Day Council.

During the Vietnam War, the Father's Day Council arranged parcels containing goods donated by members of the retailers association including Grace Bros and Gowings, to be sent to the men in Vietnam.

In 1996 due to time constraints on the members of the Council, it was decided that activities would cease. On hearing the news, Dr Shepherd, the proud 1991 Father of the Year, felt that there was a way to save the council and began discussions of amalgamation with The Shepherd Centre. 1997 saw the Father's Day Council join forces with The Shepherd Centre.

In 1998, the Council joined The Cumberland Newspaper Group, to begin the search for a NSW Community Father of the Year.

Past Recipients of Australian Father of the Year Award.

2006Ron Delezio
2005Steve Waugh AO
2004 Professor Graeme M. Clark AC FAA FTSE FRS FAAS
2003Dr Karl Kruszelnicki AM
2002Steve Vizard
2001Jim Rafter
2000Stephen Biddulph
1999Slim Dusty
1997The Hon John Howard MP, Prime Minister of Australia
1996Rear Admiral Peter Sinclair A.C.A.D.(ml)RAN(Rtd)
1995Mark Taylor
1994Sir James Hardy, O.B.E.
1993Michael Chugg
1992Rev Bill Crews, B.E.E.,B.T.H.
1991Dr Bruce Shepherd, M.B.,B.S.(Syd),B.D.S.(Syd).F.R.C.S.(Eng). F.R.C.S.(Edin).F.R.A.C.S., F.A.Orth.F.A.M.A.
1990Peter Doyle, A.M.
1989Ken Done, A.M.
1988His Excellency Rear Admiral David Martin, A.O.,R.A.N.
1987A H Pollard, M.Sc.,M.Sc(Econ),Ph.D.D.Sc.,F.I.A.A.,F.A.S.S.A.
1986Rev Dr Gordon Moyes, A.M.,B.A.,D.B.
1985Sir Ian Turbott, C.M.G.,C.V.O.
1984Prof. Peter Rowe, M.C.,F.R.A.C.P.
1983Bobby Limb, O.B.E.
1982Alan Davidson, M.B.E.
1981Dr Bradney W Norington, Esq.C.B.E.
1980J T Lees, Q.P.M., Commissioner of Police
1979Neil McLeod,O.B.E.
1978His Excellency Sir Zelman Cowen, A.K.,G.C.M.G.,K.StJ.,Q.C. Governor General of Australia
1977Gary O'Callaghan, M.B.E.
1976The Right Honourable Malcolm Fraser, M.P., Prime Minister of Australia
1975Major General Alan Stretton, A.O.,C.B.E.,
Director General, Natural Disasters Organisation, Department of Defence
1974His Excellency The Honourable Sir John Kerr, K.C.M.G.,K.St.J., Governor-General of Australia
1973The Right Hon J L Waddy, O.B.E.,D.F.C.,M.L.A. Minister for Youth and Community Services
1972Dr W G McBride, C.B.E.
1971The Right Hon William McMahon, M.P., Prime Minister of Australia
1970V.C. Fairfax, C.M.G.
1969W.M. Leornard, C.M.G.
1968His Excellency The Right Honourable Lord Casey, P.C.,GC.M.G,C.H.,D.S.O.,M.C., K.SU.,
Governor General of Australia
1967Sir Lorimer Dods, M.V.O.
1966His Excellency Sir Roden Cutler, V.C.,K.C.M.G.,C.B.E.,K.St.J., Governor of New South Wales
1965Ald. W.H. Northam
1964The Right Hon. Sir Robert Menzies, K.T.CH.,Q.C.,M.P.,
Prime Minister of Australia
1963The Hon. L J Herron, K.StJ.,Q.C. Chief Justice of New South Wales
1962Sir Norman Gregg, M.C.
1961His Honour Judge Adrian Curlewis
1960Colin Delaney, Esq. C.B.E., Commissioner of Police
1959The Hon J. J. Cahill, M.L.A. Premier of New South Wales
1958Ald. HF Jensen, Lord Mayor of Sydney
1957Sir Edward Hallstrom, Kt.F.R.Z.S.

Privacy Policy | Copyright © 2007 The Shepherd Centre | Website and hosting by SS