University of Toronto: The Bulletin.
June 9, 1997

Awards & Honours

Faculty of Arts & Science

Professor Edward Andrew of political science has been chosen as the recipient of the biennial Iichiko Award for cultural achievement from the école des Hautes études en Sciences Culturelles, Tokyo, Japan, following the publication of The Genealogy of Values. The award will be presented in Tokyo at the end of June.

University Professor Julia Ching of philosophy received an honorary doctor of divinity May 7 from Queen’s University. Ching, an Asian philosophy and religion scholar, was presented with the degree by Chancellor Peter Lougheed.

Natalie Zemon Davis, Northrop Frye Professor in Literary Theory at the Centre for Comparative Literature, was awarded an honorary doctor of humane letters degree May 11 at the College of William and Mary’s commencement ceremony in Williamsburg, Virginia. Davis, an essayist and European history scholar, is the author of The Return of Martin Guerre and served as a consultant on the film of the same name.

School of Continuing Studies

Anne Michaels, a writing instructor with the School of Continuing Studies, is the winner of the Orange Prize for Fiction for Fugitive Pieces, the story of a Polish boy in the aftermath of the Holocaust. The prize for women novelists is one of Britain’s top literary awards. Other finalists included Margaret Atwood’s Alias Grace and E. Annie Proulx’s Accordion Crimes. This is the third major prize for Fugitive Pieces; it won the 1996 Trillium Award in April and the Chapters/Books in Canada First Novel Award in May.

Faculty of Medicine

Professor Harold Atwood of physiology and zoology and former chair of physiology is the 1997 recipient of the Fry Medal of the Canadian Society of Zoologists. Atwood is the director of the MRC Group on Nerve Cells & Synapses with a reputation as one of Canada’s most distinguished neuroscientists.

Dr. Beth Gamulka of pediatrics was given the 1997 K.J.R. Wightman Award for research in biomedical ethics of the Royal College of Physicians & Surgeons. Her winning paper was entitled Consent in the teaching hospital: an analysis of current practice.

Professor Bernie Langer of surgery has received the Founders Medal of the Society for Surgery of the Alimentary Tract for his contributions to the field of gastrointestinal surgery and in recognition of his distinguished service to society. Langer was presented with the medal at the annual meeting in Washington, D.C., in May.

Professor Peggy Leatt of health administration has been awarded the Filerman Prize for Educational Leadership by the Association of University Programs in Health Administration. The prize recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the field of health administration education and practice and who demonstrate the professional and personal values of great educators. The award will be presented at the association’s annual conference this month. University Professor Emeritus Marian Packham of biochemistry will receive an honorary doctor of science degree from Ryerson Polytechnic University at the engineering and applied science convocation June 19. Packham is one of the world’s leading authorities on the biochemistry and physiology of blood platelets and is credited with major contributions to the understanding of platelets and their role in heart attacks and strokes.

School of Physical & Health Education

Professor Bruce Kidd of physical and health education received the North American Society for Sport History 1996 Book Award in May for The Struggle for Canadian Sport. The award is given annually to the “best work of sports history published in the English language in the year of the award.”

Canadian Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics

University Professor Scott Tremaine of the Canadian Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics has won the 1998 Dirk Brouwer Award of the Division on Dynamical Astronomy of the American Astronomical Society in recognition of his many outstanding contributions to a wide range of dynamical problems in both solar- system and galactic dynamics. Tremaine also received the 1997 Dannie Heineman Prize in astrophysics and was cited for “diverse and insightful applications of dynamics to planets, rings, comets, galaxies and the universe.”