University of Toronto: The Bulletin.
June 3, 1996

Awards & Honours

Faculty of Arts & Science

University Professor Emeritus Endel Tulving of the Department of Psychology received an honorary doctor of science degree from Queen's University at convocation ceremonies June 1. Tulving is described as the principal architect of the modern study of memory whose efforts have contributed to the development of a strong, highly visible academic tradition in Canada. He currently holds the Tanenbaum Chair in Cognitive Neuroscience at the Rotman Research Institute at the Baycrest Centre for Geriatric Care.

Development & University Relations

The Bulletin has been awarded silver in the best newspaper category by the Canadian Council for the Advancement of Education in its 1996 prix d'excellence program. The paper was cited for its effective layout, well-written and informative stories, reader friendliness, photos and mix between features and political/human issues articles. The U of T National Report received the gold award in the best annual report category, bringing the total to four "golds" and one "silver" in the annual report category over the past five years. Both are published by the Department of Public Affairs.

Faculty of Medicine

Professor Michael Fehlings of the Department of Surgery is the 1996 winner of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons(RCPS) Medal Award in Surgery. Fehlings' winning manuscript -- Role of sodium in the pathophysiology of traumatic spinal cord injury: Implications for the development of novel neuroprotective strategies -- will be presented at the 1996 annual meeting in Halifax in September.

Office of the President

President Robert Prichard will receive an honorary doctor of laws degree from McGill University at the law, management and music convocation June 7. Prichard is being honoured for his scholarship and commitment to higher education in Canada. He is a member of the board of the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada and the executive committee of the Council of Ontario Universities and serves on the administrative board of the International Association of Universities.

Canadian Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics

University Professor Scott Tremaine of the Canadian Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics will receive an honorary doctor of science degree from McMaster University at convocation ceremonies June 5. Tremaine is a well respected physicist and astronomer whose work has earned him numerous fellowship and awards. He has served on a variety of bodies including the telescope allocation committee for the Hubble Space Telescope and has been associate editor of Icarus since 1991.