About the FoundationLindbergh HistoryGrants ProgramEvents and Awards
MediaBookstoreHow Can I Participate?Other Sites of InterestContact UsHome

Previous Winners

Heir Apparent by Vivian Vande Velde (Harcourt, Inc.) was selected to receive the Anne Spencer Lindbergh Prize for 2001-02. In addition to the prize-winning book, the Committee of judges issued a special commendation to the Young Wizard's series by Diane Duane "for its courage in tackling moral and emotional issues set on the frontiers of magic. In addition, the author's diverse worldview enhances the appeal of the series."

The 1999-2000 Anne Spencer Prize went to Which Witch?, by Eva Ibbotson (Dutton Children's Books). In addition to the prize-winning book, two other books -- The Power of Un, by Nancy Etchemendy (Front Street/Cricket Books), and Spindle's End, by Robin McKinley (G.P. Putnam's Sons) -- were cited as honor books in the competition. The committee of judges also issued a special commendation for outstanding contribution to children's fantasy literature to J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series for its power to engage readers.

The Anne Spencer Lindbergh Prize for 1997-98 was presented to Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J. K. Rowling (Arthur A. Levine Books/Scholastic Press). Recognized as a Anne Spencer Lindbergh Honor Book for 1997-98 was Well Wished by Franny Billingsley (Atheneum Books for Young Readers/Simon and Schuster/A Jean Karl Book).

Cold Shoulder Road by Joan Aiken (Delacorte Press) was named recipient of the first Anne Spencer Lindbergh Prize in Children's Literature for 1995-96. In addition to the prize-winning book, two other books -- Wren's War by Sherwood Smith (Harcourt Brace) and Out of Time by Caroline B. Cooney (Delacorte Press) -- were designated Anne Spencer Lindbergh 1995-96 Honor Books.

Site Map     About This Site