“One of the finest chamber music concerts in recent local experience…The highly polished performance revealed amazing maturity…. this is definitely a group to watch as it starts to make recordings and the music world becomes more aware of it.” - The Virginian-Pilot

The Johannes Quartet consists of four outstanding musicians who take time away from their busy careers to pursue their love of the string quartet literature. This quartet brings together the Principal cello of the Los Angeles Philharmonic, the Principal viola of the Philadelphia Orchestra, the first American to win the Paganini Violin Competition in 24 years, and a Concert Artist Guild International Competition Winner, and has been praised by listeners and critics alike for its special combination of passion, warmth, elegance and poetry. Each member has spent numerous summers at the celebrated Marlboro Music Festival in Vermont, birthplace of many of the world's renowned ensembles. New York appearances include their recent Carnegie Hall debut as well as frequent performances on the Schneider Series at the New School and the Peoples' Symphony Concerts at Town Hall.

Forthcoming is the world premiere of a new octet written for the Johannes Quartet and the renowned Guarneri Quartet by award winning composer William Bolcom, to be commissioned by the Music Accord consortium of presenters. In addition to this work, the quartet will also premiere a new string quartet to be written for them by Esa-Pekka Salonen.

Recent highlights include performances in Chicago, Hancher Auditorium at the University of Iowa, The Kennedy Center in Washington DC, Weill Hall at Carnegie Hall(NY), Los Angeles (CA), Norfolk(VA) Phoenix(AZ), Schenectady(NY), and Storrs(CT) . The Johannes has also been heard around the country through broadcasts on NPR’s Performance Today and MPR’s St. Paul Sunday.

Johannes String Quartet

Soovin Kim, violin
Jessica Lee, violin
Choong-Jin (C.J.) Chang, viola
Peter Stumpf, cello


February 7-17, 2008
consult Feb. 19- 22, 2008
Feb. 24 – Mar. 2, 2008
Please consult for other dates.

Download booking information in pdf format.
in Recital 2007-08 Fact Sheet
with Guarneri String Quartet Fact Sheet

In order to view the fact sheets, you will need to have the a PDF file reader. You can download for free at Adobe.
Not Available, please call for an audio sample
In order to listen to the sound clips, you will need a device which plays real audio files. You can download the RealOne Audio Player here.
Click here to find press materials including biographies, photos and more.

home | site map | Legal Disclaimer |

© Copyright 2007