Kathleen Mitchell Award

Kathleen Mitchell Award 2006 (literature)

About The Kathleen Mitchell Award

The Kathleen Mitchell Award is an Award dedicated to encourage young Australian authors to achieve their dreams.

Established by the will of the late Kathleen Adele Mitchell who directed the Award to encourage “the advancement, improvement and betterment of Australian literature, to improve the educational style of the authors and to provide them with additional amounts and thus enable them to improve their literary efforts”. 

First established in 1996, the Award is a biennial award with prize money being $7,500.

Past winners include:

  • 1996 Sonya Hartnett Sleeping Dogs
  • 1998 James Bradley Wrack
  • 2000 Julia Leigh The Hunter
  • 2002 no award
  • 2004 Lucy Lehmann The Showgirl and the Brumby (Random House Australia).
  • 2006 Markus Zusak The Book Thief (Picador)

Eligibility is for those authors that are under thirty (30) years of age at the time of their book’s publication. The author must also be a resident of Australia for the twelve months preceding the closing date for entries and must be either Australian or British born, or be a naturalised Australian.

About The Kathleen Mitchell Award 2008
The prize money for 2008 is $7,500.

2008 Key dates:

Close of entries Friday 22 February 2008
Winner's announcement and event Late April 2008

To download a 2008 application form please enter here.

Want to be updated on milestones for this Award? Please send your email address with “Kathleen Mitchell” in the subject box to: psalter@cauzgroup.com.au

For further information regarding this Award please contact:

Cauz Group Pty Limited
Telephone: (02) 9332 1559
Facsimile: (02) 9332 1298
Email: trustawards@cauzgroup.com.au