Modernising Medical Careers

MMC in ScotlandMMC in WalesMMC in Northern Ireland

MMC: What's changing?

How will the new training programmes work?

Most programmes will be initially broad-based (eg medicine), becoming more specialty focused over time (eg cardiology). The introduction of run-through training means trainees no longer need to apply for individual elements of training.  In addition, since more doctors will be able to complete their training, more NHS patient care will be delivered by fully trained doctors.

Every specialty will have a run-through training programme, lasting from approximately three years in general practice to five – seven years in other specialties. The medical royal colleges are producing national curricula for each training programme that will meet the standards required by the Postgraduate Medical Education and Training Board (PMETB). The curricula will state the competences to be gained by following the programme; provide explicit standards and guidance for assessment; and will be the basis upon which a doctor progresses through training.

Doctors successfully completing a specialty training programme will receive a CCT and become eligible for entry to the General Practice / Specialist Register.

How will this affect my career?

Doctors will compete for places in specialist training programmes with other doctors at similar levels of experience and competence.

During the first year of transition in 2007, competitive entry to specialty will be available at a number of levels, so that doctors who currently have different ranges of experience and competences can enter run-through at the most appropriate level. Those who are completing foundation training and with limited SHO experience will compete for entry at the beginning of specialist training (ST1), while doctors with more experience in a specialtywill have the opportunity to compete to enter the programmes at appropriately advanced stages (ST2, ST3, ST4).

Doctors who already hold a National Training Number (NTN) may complete their training under the current specialist curriculum. There will also be the opportunity for trainees to transfer to the new curriculum in some specialties, subject to discussions with the local specialty training committee. If such transfers do occur, doctors will remain as either Type 1 (holding an NTN) or Type 2 (fixed-term appointment) specialty trainees, reflecting their current situation.

Doctors who are unsuccessful in their application to specialty training programmes may apply for fixed-term specialist training appointments (FTSTA), or if they have the required competences they can apply for a career post.