Highland District [UK]
Authors and Contributors this page: T.F. Mills
Page created 1 July 2005. Corrected and updated 26.05.2006

Highland District


 United Kingdom  
    Titles & History
    Forces Under Command
   Titles and History
Index of Home Cmds
Index of Overseas Cmds
  1905.02 Highland Grouped Regimental District
formed with HQ at Perth by division of North British Dist upon its upgrade to Scottish Command, encompassing counties of Perthshire, Forfarshire, Fifeshire, Orkney, Shetland, Caithness, Sutherland, Ross and Cromarty, Elgin, Nairn, Aberdeenshire, Banffshire, Kincardine, Inverness-shire, Argyll, Bute, Kinross, Clackmannan, Stirlingshire, Dumbartonshire, and Renfrewshire
  1907.11.27 No. 1 Grouped Regimental District
1920 Highland Area
reorganised with HQ at Perth
1940? Highland area expanded to form new areas:
  • South Highland Area (Perthshire, Angus, Fifeshire (except Forth Defences), part of Argyllshire, Kinross, Clackmannan, and part of Stirlingshire; other parts of Argyll and Stirling transferred to Glasgow Area)
    • Perthshire Sub Area
    • Angus Sub Area
    • Fife Sub Area
  • North Highland Area (Inverness-shire, Aberdeenshire, Banffshire, Morayshire, Nairn, Sutherland, Caithness, Ross and Cromarty, and Kincardineshire)
    • Aberdeen Sub Area
    • Aberdeen Garrison
    • Sutherland Sub Area
  • Orkney and Shetland Defences
    • Shetland Defences
1944 Highland District
re-formed with HQ at Perth for troop administration
1946.10.28 training functions reorganised as N Group and Infantry Training Centre (Black Watch, Highland LI, Seaforth Hldrs, Gordon Hldrs, Argyll & Sutherland Hldrs) and Primary Training Centres established in locations of old regimental depots (using old district numbers) to carry out initial recruit training
  1948.07.01 N Group redesignated Highland Brigade
  1948 PTCs closed, and all training taken over by Brigade Infantry Training Centres
  1951 ITCs closed and training resumed at old regimental depot PTCs
  1959 regimental depots closed, and training resumed by Brigade Infantry Training Centres
  1961 51st (Highland) Division/District
1972.04.01 Headquarters Highlands
HQ at Perth; downgraded to area/brigade status and transferred to UK Land Forces
1982 Headquarters 51 Highland Brigade
1992.04.01 transferred to Scottish District
  2000.04 transferred to 2nd Division
   Forces Under Command
Index of Divisions
Index of Brigades
  Commander, South Highland Area:
1939.08.30 Brig. W.A. Grey-Wilson, MC
  Commander, North Highland Area:
1941.03.06 Brig. W.G. Glencairn Campbell, OBE
  Commander, Orkney and Shetland Defences:
1940.03.30 Maj-Gen. G.C. Kemp, MC
  General Officer Commanding Highland District:
    Maj-Gen. E. Maitland-Makgill-Crichton, OBE

How to Find Books