©AMPAS® Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
Home Academy Awards Events Press Site Map/Search
Press Area  


June 18, 2007
CONTACT: Leslie Unger - (310) 247-3090

Academy Invites 115 to Become Members

Beverly Hills, CA – The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is extending invitations to join the organization to 115 artists and executives who have distinguished themselves by their contributions to theatrical motion pictures. Those who accept the invitation will be the only additions in 2007 to the Academy’s roster of voting members.

“These individuals are all exceptionally accomplished in their respective fields,” said Academy President Sid Ganis. “We’re looking forward to having them join the Academy’s ranks.”

The membership policies that the Academy adopted four years ago in order to slow the growth of the organization would have allowed a maximum of nearly 150 new members in 2007, but as in the previous three years, the various branch committees endorsed far fewer candidates than were proposed to them. Voting membership in the organization has now held steady at just under 6,000 members for four years.

“The numbers are stabilizing nicely,” said Academy Executive Director Bruce Davis, “but at the same time some interesting changes are occurring. Like the recent lists of Oscar® nominees, our last few membership invitation lists have been increasingly international.”

New members will be welcomed into the Academy at an invitation-only reception at the Fairbanks Center for Motion Picture Study in Beverly Hills in September.

The 2007 invitees are:

Jennifer Aniston - The Break-Up, Friends with Money
Adriana Barraza - Babel, Amores Perros
Steve Carell - The 40-Year-Old Virgin, Little Miss Sunshine
Daniel Craig - Casino Royale, Munich
Aaron Eckhart - Thank You for Smoking, The Black Dahlia
Chiwetel Ejiofor - Dirty Pretty Things, Children of Men
William Fichtner - The Longest Yard, Black Hawk Down
Ryan Gosling - Half Nelson, The Notebook
Jackie Earle Haley - Little Children, Breaking Away
Jennifer Hudson - Dreamgirls
Danny Huston - Children of Men, The Constant Gardner
Eddie Murphy - Dreamgirls, Beverly Hills Cop
Christopher Plummer - Inside Man, The Sound of Music
James Rebhorn - Far from Heaven, Meet the Parents
Michael Sheen - The Queen, Blood Diamond
Maribel Verdu - Pan's Labyrinth, Y Tu Mama Tambien
Sharon Calahan - Ratatouille, Finding Nemo
George Griffin - A Little Routine, New Fangled
John Kahrs - Cars, The Incredibles
Torill Kove - The Danish Poet, My Grandmother Ironed the    King's Shirts
Marcy Page - The Danish Poet, Ryan
Troy Saliba - Monster House, Stuart Little 2
Art Directors
Hugh Bateup - Superman Returns, The Matrix
Sam Mercer - The Village, Signs
Lia Vollack
Casting Directors
Lisa Beach - Walk the Line, Wedding Crashers
Leslee Feldman - Over the Hedge, Shrek 
Javier Aguirresarobe - The Sea Inside, Talk to Her
Steve Gainer - A Dirty Shame, Mysterious Skin
Michael Goi - How U Like Me Now, Sam and Sarah
Michael Grady - The Dead Girl, Wonderland
Adam Kimmel - Capote, The Ref
Alar Kivilo - The Lake House, A Simple Plan
M David Mullen - Akeelah and the Bee, Northfork
Xavier Perez Grobet - Nacho Libre, Music and Lyrics
Costume Designers
Consolata Boyle - The Queen, Angela's Ashes
Nancy Steiner - Little Miss Sunshine, Lost in Translation
Peter Berg - Friday Night Lights, The Rundown
D.J. Caruso - Disturbia, Taking Money
Antoine Fuqua - Shooter, Training Day
Paul Greengrass - United 93, The Bourne Supremacy
Monte Hellman - Two-Lane Blacktop, The Shooting
Simon West - The General's Daughter, Con Air
Steve James - Hoop Dreams, Stevie
Nathaniel Kahn - My Architect, Two Hands
James Longley - Iraq in Fragments, Gaza Strip
Brett Morgen - The Kid Stays in the Picture, On the Ropes
Laura Poitras - My Country, My Country; Flag Wars
Eric Simonson - A Note of Triumph: The Golden Age of    Norman Corwin; On Tiptoe: Gentle Steps to Freedom
Greg Foster
Judd Funk
Adam Goodman
Andrew W. Gumpert
Michael J. Lambert
Yair Landau
David Weil
Film Editors
Sandra Adair - A Scanner Darkly, School of Rock
Virginia Katz - Dreamgirls, Gods and Monsters
Saar Klein - The New World, Almost Famous
Richard Pearson - United 93, Rent
Alex Rodriguez - Children of Men, Y Tu Mama Tambien
Christopher Rouse - United 93, The Bourne Supremacy
Live Action Short Films
Borja Cobeaga - Eramos Pocos, La Primera Vez
Javier Fesser - Binta y La Gran Idea, La Gran Aventura de    Mortadelo y Filemon
Ari Sandel - West Bank Story
John E. Jackson - Hollywoodland, Thank You for Smoking
David Marti - Pan's Labyrinth, Hellboy
Montse Ribe - Pan's Labyrinth, Hellboy
Kazuhiro Tsuji - Click, Planet of the Apes (2001)
Carter Burwell - Adaptation, Kinsey
Alexandre Desplat - The Queen, Syriana
Javier Navarrete - Pan's Labyrinth, The Devil's Backbone
Gustavo Santaolalla - Babel, Brokeback Mountain
Agustin Almodovar - Volver, Talk to Her
Bonnie Arnold - Over the Hedge, Toy Story
Julia Chasman - Driving Lessons, 25th Hour
Jonathan Glickman - Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy,
   Rush Hour
Daniel Goldberg - Old School, Stripes
Jack Rapke - Monster House, Cast Away
Jane Rosenthal - The Good Shepherd, Meet the Fockers
Production Designers
Eugenio Caballero - Pan's Labyrinth, Cronicas
Nathan Crowley - The Prestige, Batman Begins
Nigel Phelps - The Island, Pearl Harbor
Public Relations
Kevin Campbell
Jason Cassidy
Frank J. Chiocchi
Sarah Greenberg
Ileen Reich
Jeff Smith
Valerie Van Galder
Michael J. Benavente - Catch and Release, There's    Something About Mary
Linda Folk - The Prestige, The Da Vinci Code
Jessica Gallavan - Apocalypto, Pirates of the Caribbean:    The Curse of the Black Pearl
Tim Gomillion - Night at the Museum, Walk the Line
Howard London - Spiderman 3, The Da Vinci Code
Steven D. Williams - You, Me and Dupree, The Mask
Jim Wright - Black Snake Moan, War of the Worlds (2005)
Visual Effects
John Andrew Berton, Jr - Charlotte's Web, The Mummy
Al DiSarro - Paycheck, 2 Fast 2 Furious
Bryan Hirota - Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's    Chest, X-Men: The Last Stand
Alan E. Lorimer - Garfield, Dr. Dolittle 2
Christopher Nibley - Herbie: Fully Loaded,
   The Addams Family
Douglas H. Smith - Dr. Seuss' The Cat in the Hat,    Independence Day
Ben Snow - King Kong (2005), Star Wars Episode II Attack    of the Clones 
Eric Swenson - The Life Aquatic, X2
Jon Thum - Superman Returns, The Matrix
J.J. Abrams - Mission: Impossible III, Armageddon
Michael Arndt - Little Miss Sunshine
Guillermo Arriaga - Babel, 21 Grams
Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck - The Lives of Others
Patrick Marber - Notes on a Scandal, Closer
William Monahan - The Departed, Kingdom of Heaven
Peter Morgan - The Queen, The Last King of Scotland
Billy Ray - Breach, Shattered Glass
Erin Cressida Wilson - Fur: An Imaginary Portrait of Diane    Arbus, Secretary


# # #
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
8949 Wilshire Boulevard Beverly Hills, CA 90211-1972
(310) 247-3000


© Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences