Texas A&M University Athletics Department

Home of The 12th Man

Texas A&M Logo design element header image
header image header image header image header image

AggieAthletics.com Logo

A&M Center Cody Wallace Named to Another Prestigious Watch List

For Immediate Release
Friday, June 15, 2007


Print-Friendly Version   Email This Story  

Dallas- Texas A&M senior center Cody Wallace (Cuero, Texas) has been named to the 2007 Outland Trophy watch list, the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) announced. The Outland Trophy is given annually to the best interior lineman in college football.

Wallace is the anchor of an offensive line that plowed the way for Aggie rushers to rack up 2,689 yards and a Big 12 best 32 rushing touchdowns in 2006. The 6-foot-4, 294-pound senior was a first-team All-Big 12 pick in 2006 and has started 23 consecutive games for the Aggies. Wallace was named a permanent team captain by his teammates last season and will serve on Texas A&M head coach Dennis Franchione’s Leadership Council again in 2007.

The nomination to the Outland Trophy watch list is yet another milestone in a busy off-season for Wallace. Since the end of last season, Wallace has been named to both the Rimington and Outland Trophy watch lists, as well as being tabbed a pre-season all-American. To go along with the national accolades, Wallace was also named the best collegiate offensive lineman in Texas by Dave Campbell’s Texas Football magazine. In March, Wallace set a school record at the Aggie’s annual Night of Champions weight lifting exhibition by squatting an astonishing 740 pounds.

The Outland Trophy is named after John Outland, a standout lineman at Pennsylvania during the turn of the century. It has been awarded every year since 1943. The winner is determined by the FWAA All-America committee that also selects the Association’s 25-man All-America team. The winner of the 2007 Outland Trophy will be announced December 6 in Orlando, Florida at the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

The 2007 Outland Trophy Watch List

Jeff Akeroyd, Houston

Sete Aulai, BYU

Sam Baker, USC

Kirk Barton, Ohio State

Alex Boone, Ohio State

Ryan Clady, Boise State

Kyle Cunningham, Louisiana-Monroe

Dan Davis, Connecticut

Glenn Dorsey, LSU

Franklin Dunbar, Middle Tennessee

Ryan Durand, Syracuse

King Dunlap, Auburn

Sedrick Ellis, USC

Andre Fluellen, Florida State

Eric Foster, Rutgers

Adrian Grady, Louisville

Dallas Griffin, Texas

Antron Harper, Navy

Robby Heos, Rice

Matt Hines, Nevada

Steve Justice, Wake Forest

Adam Kraus, Michigan

Doug Legursky, Marshall

Kory Lichtensteiger, Bowling Green

Matty Lindner, TCU

Derek Lokey, Texas

Jake Long, Michigan

Jonathan Luigs, Arkansas

Alex Mack, California

Michael Oher, Ole Miss

Frank Okam, Texas

Barry Richardson, Clemson

Matt Slauson, Nebraska

Andre Smith, Alabama

Pedro Sosa, Rutgers

John Sullivan, Notre Dame

Cody Wallace, Texas A&M

Ryan Wendell, Fresno State

Eric Wood, Louisville

Jeremy Zuttah, Rutgers