UCM - University of Central Missouri ESU - Emporia State University FHSU - Fort Hays State University MSSU - Missouri Southern State University MWSU - Missouri Western State University NWMSU - Northwest Missouri State University PSU - Pittsburg State University SBU - Southwest Baptist University TSU - Truman State University WU - Washburn University Home of the MIAA.com

Home of TheMIAA.comAbout The MIAAPhoto GalleryKen B Jones AwardMIAA SAACPost Season TournamentsMedia GuidesMIAA StoreSubscribe to the MIAA Mail ListContact Us
(Click here to return to the News listings.)
June 22, 2007
MIAA CEO Council ratifies decision to add Nebraska-Omaha

Mavericks to join the conference in 2008-09 academic year

SAN DIEGO, Calif. -- The Chief Executive Officer's Council of the Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association ratified the action to accept the University of Nebraska at Omaha as a member of the conference, effective for the 2008-09 academic year.

The affirmation from the CEO Council of the action earlier in the month by the MIAA's Institutional Representatives occurred Friday (June 22) during its meeting at the NCAA Division II Presidents and Chancellors Summit in San Diego.

Details on scheduling and sports sponsorship, as well as comments from MIAA officials, will be released next week.

UNO, founded in 1908, as the University of Omaha, has a current enrollment of more than 14,000 students. The 15-sport athletics program has competed in the North Central Conference since 1977.

The school became a part of the University of Nebraska system on July 1, 1968, when it was renamed the University of Nebraska at Omaha.

UNO has some history to draw from as it joins Pittsburg State, Emporia State, Fort Hays State and Washburn in the MIAA.

Those schools and UNO were members of the Central Intercollegiate Conference from 1959-68 and later formed the Plains Division of the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference from 1968-72 and the Great Plains Athletic Conference in 1972-73.

The Mavericks have enjoyed some long-standing rivalries on the field with several MIAA schools, particularly Northwest Missouri State in football. UNO has met the Bearcats in football eight times since 1996, six in the regular season.

UNO and Northwest Missouri State are scheduled to play Sept. 8 in Omaha this season.

UNO has won 59 conference championships while a member of the NCC in 13 different sports. The Mavericks have won the women's all-sports trophy three straight years and four of the past five seasons.

Maverick teams also have added national titles in softball, women's soccer, volleyball and three times in wrestling while a member of the NCC.

The Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association, currently made up of 10 NCAA Division II institutions in Missouri and Kansas, was first organized in 1912 as the Missouri Intercollegiate Athletic Association, and reorganized in 1924.

A member of the NCAA since 1957, the conference changed its name to the Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association in 1992 after Emporia State became the third non-Missouri school to join the circuit.

The MIAA has gained the reputation of being one of the top NCAA Division II conferences in the nation. MIAA student-athletes have won 13 national team championships and more than 140 individual national titles.

The conference also leads in the classroom. MIAA schools have placed more student-athletes on the CoSIDA/ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America Team since January 2000 than any other NCAA Division II conference -- 160 as of June 21.

The MIAA conducts championships in eight men's and eight women's sports ­ football, cross country, basketball, indoor and outdoor track and field, baseball, tennis, and golf for men and volleyball, soccer, cross country, basketball, indoor and outdoor track and field, softball and tennis for women.

Ralph McFillen, commissioner of the MIAA since July 1997, announced his retirement effective this coming June 30. Jim Johnson, formerly with the NCAA and most recently the director of athletics at Texas A&M University-Commerce, succeeds McFillen on July 2.

-- MIAA --

(Click here for a printer friendly PDF format)

(Click here to return to the News listings.)
Home   Contact Us   About Us   Tournament   Awards   MIAA SAAC   Media Guides   MIAA Merchandise   Mail List  

Click here to subscribe to the MIAA Mail List
Click here to Order Tickets Now!!!Legend: ESU=Emporia State University; FHSU=Fort Hays State University; MSSU=Missouri Southern State University;
MWSU=Missouri Western State University; NWMSU=Northwest Missouri State University; PSU=Pittsburg State University;
SBU=Southwest Baptist University; TSU=Truman State University; UCM=University of Central Missouri; WU=Washburn University
*= MIAA Game. HC=Homecoming Game. ss=Split Squad.
All Times Central and are subject to change.

Men's Sports: Baseball    Basketball    Cross Country    Football    Golf    Tennis    Track & Field
Women's Sports: Basketball    Cross Country    Soccer    Softball    Tennis    Track & Field    Volleyball

Web Site Development and Service provided by Dale Ahle, Professional Services.
Copyright (c) 2000-2007 The MIAA and Dale Ahle, Professional Services.
All rights reserved.