Oklahoma Sooners


Reggie Smith

Reggie Smith on Nagurski List

Oklahoma Defensive Back Named to Watch List for 2007.

June 13, 2007

NORMAN, Okla. - Oklahoma defensive back Reggie Smith is one of 50 players named to the preseason Nagurski Watch List. The Nagurski Trophy is awarded anually to the best defensive player in college football and is sponsored by the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

Past Oklahoma winners include Roy Williams in 2001 and Derrick Strait in 2003.

Smith, a first-team All-Big 12 player last season, started all 13 games during the 2007 season. He played cornerback in the first three game before moving to strong safety.

Smith finished the season with 40 total tackles and three intercepetions, including a 42-yard interception return for a touchdown at Baylor.

Also on of the Big 12 Conference's top return specialists, Smith returned 12 kickoffs for a 22.6-yard average and 37 punts for 7.8 and one touchdown.

The FWAA All-America Committee selects the Bronko Nagurski winner from the association's 11-man All-America defensive team in November. The watch list was developed by the FWAA All-America committee with the help of the schools and conferences.

The Charlotte Touchdown Club will hold the 2007 banquet on Monday, Dec. 3, at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte. Ohio State linebacker James Laurinaitis won the 2006 Bronko Nagurski Trophy.

For the seventh straight season, the FWAA will also select a Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week beginning with games on Sept. 1 through mid-November.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is awarded in memory of the legendary Nagurski, a former All-America lineman at Minnesota in 1927-29 and a star for professional football's Chicago Bears in the 1930s.

Oklahoma All-Access - Launch Broadband Channel
View more videos
McBride Electric Play of the Game
The Bedlam Series
Visit Oklahoma
Love's Travel Stops
Sooner of the Week