The Ramsar Convention on Wetlands

Ramsar and World Heritage Sites

worldheritage.jpg (12792 bytes)

Ramsar logo

The following table presents a list of Ramsar Wetlands of International Importance that are also inscribed on the World Heritage List under the UNESCO Convention Concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage.

The site names employed in this list are those used in the Ramsar List of Wetlands of International Importance and the World Heritage List. An asterisk (*) designates World Heritage Sites which are not fully contiguous with the Ramsar site. For more details, see the Annotated Ramsar List or the World Heritage Brief Descriptions.

The sign "(MR)" has been added to those sites which are listed on the Ramsar Montreux Record of sites where changes in ecological character have occurred, are occurring, or are likely to occur, and the sign "(WH-D)" to those which are on the World Heritage in Danger list.

See also the Memorandum of Understanding of 14 May 1999 between the Bureau of the Ramsar Convention on Wetlands and the World Heritage Centre.

(MR) = Montreux Record
(WH-D) = World Heritage in Danger List


State Party Ramsar Site Name World Heritage Site Name
Albania Butrint, 2003 Butrint, 1992, 1999
Algeria La Vallée d'Iherir, 2001 Tassili n'Ajjer, 1982 *
Australia Great Sandy Strait, 1999 Fraser Island, 1992*
Australia Kakadu National Park, 1980, 1989 Kakadu National Park, 1981, 1987, 1992
Bangladesh Sundarbans Reserved Forest, 1992 The Sundarbans, 1997
Bulgaria Srébarna, 1975 (MR) Srebarna Nature Reserve, 1983 (WH-D)
Canada Peace-Athabasca Delta, 1982
Whooping Crane Summer Range, 1982
Wood Buffalo National Park, 1983 *
Costa Rica Isla del Coco, 1998 Cocos Island National Park, 1997, 2002
Democratic Republic of the Congo Parc national des Virunga, 1996 Virunga National Park, 1979 (WH-D)
France Baie du Mont Saint-Michel, 1994 Mont-Saint-Michel and its Bay, 1979
Hungary / Slovak Republic Baradla Cave System and related wetlands, 2001 / Domica, 2001 Caves of Aggtelek Karst and Slovak Karst, 1995, 2000
Hungary Hortobágy, 1979 Hortobágy National Park - the Puszta, 1999
India Keoladeo National Park, 1981 (MR) Keoladeo National Park, 1985
Japan Yakushima Nagata-hama, 2005 Yakushima, 1993
Lebanon Tyre Beach, 1999 Tyre, 1984 *
Mauritania Banc d'Arguin, 1982 Banc d'Arguin National Park, 1989
Mexico Humedales del Delta del Río Colorando, 1996
Laguna Ojo de Liebre, 2004
Parque Nacional Bahía de Loreto, 2004
Islands and Protected Areas of the Gulf of California, 2005
Mexico Laguna San Ignacio, 2004 Whale Sanctuary of El Vizcaíno, 1993 *
Mexico Sian Ka'an, 2003 Sian Ka'an, 1987
Mexico Sistema Lacustre Ejidos de Xochimilco y San Gregorio Atlapulco, 2004 Historic Centre of Mexico City and Xochimilco, 1987 *
Mongolia Lake Uvs and its surrounding wetlands, 2004 Uvs Nuur Basin, 2003 * (transboundary)
Nepal Beeshazar and associated lakes, 2003 Royal Chitwan National Park, 1984
Niger Parc national du "W", 1987 W National Park of Niger, 1996
Philippines Tubbataha Reef Marine Park, 1999 Tubbataha Reef Marine Park, 1993
Romania Danube Delta, 1991 Danube Delta, 1991
Russian Federation Selenga Delta, 1994 Lake Baikal, 1996 *
Senegal Djoudj, 1977 (MR) Djoudj National Bird Sanctuary, 1981
Slovak Republic / Hungary Domica, 2001 / Baradla Cave System and related wetlands, 2001 Caves of Aggtelek Karst and Slovak Karst, 1995, 2000 (transboundary)
Slovenia Skocjanske jame (Skocjan Caves), 1999 Skocjan Caves, 1986
Spain Parque Nacional de Doñana, 1982 (MR) Doñana National Park, 1994
Sweden Sjaunja, 1974 Laponian Area, 1996 *
Tunisia Ichkeul, 1980 (MR) Ichkeul National Park, 1980
United States of America Everglades National Park, 1987 (MR) Everglades National Park, 1979

notesFor further information, please contact the Ramsar Convention Secretariat, Rue Mauverney 28, CH-1196 Gland, Switzerland (tel +41 22 999 0170, fax +41 22 999 0169, e-mail ) or the UNESCO World Heritage Centre, 7 place de Fontenoy, 75352 Paris 07 SP, France (tel: +33 1 4568 1821, fax: +33 1 4568 5570). Posted 9 April 1997, updated 18 August 2006, 28 June 2007.