Local Government Boundaries Commissioner

Provisional Recommendations

Provisional Recommendations for the boundaries and names of the seven new local government districts in Northern Ireland and their constituent wards were announced on 07 November 2006 by the Local Government Boundaries Commissioner, Dick Mackenzie CB.

These initial recommendations are the outcome of work by the Commissioner and his staff, since his appointment on 01 June 2006, following the announcement by the Secretary of State, Peter Hain, that a review of local government boundaries should be undertaken as part of the outworking of the Review of Public Administration to reduce the number of councils from 26 to 7.

The Commissioner's Provisional Recommendations can be downloaded in full below.  The length of time required to download the Provisional Recommendations will vary depending on your internet connection.

The Provisional Recommendations have also been published in a number of smaller sections for ease of access.  

A list of proposed Local Government District wards by street names and postcodesOpens New Browser Window is also available on this site.

Should you require a copy of the text of this document in an alternative format, it can be made available on request in large print, disc, Braille and audiocassette. The Office’s text phone number has been included to assist those with hearing difficulties. The document may also be made available in languages other than English on request. Please contact us to discuss how we can best provide alternatives for you.

Amanda Morrison
Secretary to the Commissioner
Office of the Local Government Boundaries Commissioner
Purdy’s Lane

Tel. (028) 9049 4870
Fax. (028) 9049 4889
E-mail. thesecretary@lgbc-ni.org
Text phone. (028) 9054 0642