-The New England Book Awards
Find Local Stores
New England Map
Metro Boston
outside Metro Boston
New Hampshire
New York
Rhode Island
Links to Independent Bookstores
Specialty Stores
NEIBA exchange
classified ads for New England booksellers
learn which authors are visting independent bookstores
NEIBA Advisory Council
Membership Info
NEIBA Materials
NEIBA Ad Rates
Contact NEIBA
Book Resources
Member Blogs
Book Sense Bestsellers
weekly report from NEIBA stores
2006 NECBA Reviews
Reviews from Children's Books Specialists
New England
Book Awards

our members' favorites
Book "Doctors"
connect with specialists who can help
Book Publishers Representatives of New England
Bookselling Links

The New England Book Awards

New England Book Awards posterThe New England Book Awards were established in 1990 by the New England Independent Booksellers Association, the largest regional bookselling organization in the United States.

The purpose of the Awards is to promote New England authors and publishers who have produced a body of work that stands as a significant contribution to New England's culture.

Nominations are solicited from more than 800 New England bookstores and publishers. A committee of booksellers, appointed by the New England Independent Booksellers Association, selects the winners. Bookstores throughout New England feature the works of the winners. Each author award is accompanied by a $500 grant from NEIBA to a literacy or other charitable organization chosen by the winner.

Previous New England Book Award Winners:

2006 Ernest Hebert
2005 William Martin
2004 Archer Mayor
2003 Jodi Picoult
2002 Chris Bohjalian
2001 Elinor Lipman
2000 Suzanne Strempek Shea
1999 Wally Lamb
1998 Anita Shreve
1997 Elizabeth Berg
1996 Jamaica Kincaid
1995 Howard Norman
1994 Richard Russo
1993 Jill McCorkle
1992 Cathie Pelletier
1991 Howard Frank Mosher
1990 May Sarton

2006 Kevin Phillips
2005 Jane Brox
2004 Linda Greenlaw
2003 Simon Winchester
2002 Howard Zinn
2001 Robert Finch
2000 John Hanson Mitchell
1999 Bill Bryson
1998 Bernd Heinrich
1997 James Carroll
1996 David Herbert Donald
1995 Doris Kearns Goodwin
1994 Tracy Kidder
1993 Donald Hall
1992 Jonathan Kozol
1991 Geoffrey Ward, Ric Burns, Ken Burns

Children's Books
2006 Jane Yolen
2005 Marc Simont
2004 Molly Bang
2003 Lois Lowry
2002 Leonard Everett Fisher
2001 Joan Bauer
2000 Marcia Sewall
1999 Karen Hesse
1998 Susan Meddaugh
1997 Natalie Kinsey-Warnock
1996 Steven Kellogg
1995 Natalie Babbitt
1994 Ashley Bryan
1993 William Steig
1992 Katherine Paterson
1991 Barbara Cooney
1990 Jan Brett

Editorial Excellence
1997 Henry Louis Gates, Jr.

Literary Excellence
2001 John Edgar Wideman
1999 Mary Oliver
1995 Peter Davison

New England Publishing
2006 Commonwealth Editions
2005 Chelsea Green
2004 Storey Publishing
2003 Candlewick Press
2002 University Press of New England

2000 Steerforth Publishing
1998 Houghton Mifflin
1996 Curbstone Press
1994 South End Press
1993 Alyson Publications
1992 Beacon Press
1991 University of Massachusetts Press
1990 David R. Godine, Publisher


NEIBA Bylaws

N.E. Book Awards
NEIBA Member Stores Specialty Stores Members' Websites Bookselling Links Book 'Doctors'
NECBA Reviews Order NEIBA Materials Privacy Policy

Terms & Conditions

Contact Us/Email
 Copyright © 2007, New England Independent Booksellers Association