Administration Center ▲ 596 Crescent Boulevard ▲ Glen Ellyn, Illinois 60137-4297 ▲ Phone: (630) 469-9100 ▲ Fax: (630) 469-9107

Glenbard East students earn AP Scholar Awards

Forty-three Glenbard East High School students have earned AP Scholar Awards on the basis of their outstanding academic performance.

The College Board's Advanced Placement Program offers students the opportunity to take college-level courses while still in high school, and to receive college credit, advanced placement, or both for successful performance on the AP Exams.

Students took AP Exams in May 2004 after completing college-level courses at their high schools. The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on student's performance on AP exams.

At Glenbard East High School one student, Robert Swanson, qualified for the National AP Scholar Award by earning an average grade of 4 or higher on a 5-point scale on all AP Exams taken, and grades of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams.

Ten students qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction Award by earning an average grade of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams. These students are Tanya Basu, Melanie Fedirka, Daniel Larson, Cathy Nguyen, Tejas Patel, Jessica Saunders, Olesia Shalayska, Jaspreet Singh, Rishi Singh, and Robert Swanson.

Seventeen students qualified for the AP Scholar with Honor Award by earning an average grade of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams. These students are Kirsten Andersen, Husain Esmail, Joseph Gatdula, Matthew Gerzevske, James Hara, Graham Heise, Sarah Jones, Meghan Malone, Adil Mansoor, Matthew McGarry, Carrie Merkle, Naweed Paya, Katarina Ramos, Linda Russo, Bogdan Tira, Lucian Tira, and Samantha Wittenberg.

Sixteen students qualified for the AP Scholar Award by completing three or more AP Exams, with grades of 3 or higher. The AP Scholars are Bradley Barreras, Meghan Byers, Katelyn Intres, Joyce Meza, Samantha Myers, Constantine Nikolaides, Ankur Patel, Hanzla Quraishi, Lindsey Rivers, Alexander Rosenberg, Mark Rossetti, Mansi Shah, Jan Teves, Hydari Umar, Linda Urnezis, and Saemi Yi.

Posted: December 2, 2004