Home | Departments | Mayor | Assembly | Employee Directory | Contact Us | Find

 You are here :  Home > Sister Cities > Homepage



Chitose, Japan


Darwin, Australia

Incheon New Logo2
  Incheon, Korea

Magadan, Russia


Tromso, Norway


Whitby, England


"The Sister Cities program is an important resource to the negotiations of governments in letting the people themselves give expression of their common desire for friendship, goodwill and cooperation for a better world." 

President Dwight D. Eisenhower

Sister Cities International grew out of the People-to-People concept proposed by President Dwight D. Eisenhower at a White House conference in 1956. Today over 1,056 U.S. communities have Sister City relationships with 1,688 foreign cities in 117 nations.

The Anchorage Sister Cities Commission was established in 1970, and became a full Commission in 1972. Its formation formally recognized the importance of cultural sport and educational exchange programs between Anchorage and other foreign cities as a means to foster mutual respect and goodwill.

The Commission is composed of Anchorage citizens appointed by the Mayor. Commissioners come from diverse groups within the community including the fields of government, commerce and education, as well as representatives of various ethnic segments from our community. The members volunteer their time and efforts. The Sister Cities Commission also assists in hosting functions on behalf of Anchorage for visiting citizens and dignitaries from its sister cities. 

For more information, email us:  mashburn@gci.net

Related Links

Calendar of Events

Commissioners & Friends

Sister Cities News

Sister Cities Outreach Program

Sister City Activities


632 W. 6th Avenue   Anchorage, Alaska  99501
PO Box 196650 Anchorage, Alaska  99519
Disclaimer |  Privacy Statement | Site Help | (c)2004 MOA IT e-Gov