Research Guide: Irish News & Newspapers
This guide lists news sources for Irish and Irish-American
topics in both current and historical Irish newspapers. For more resources,
including basic reference sources for Irish Studies, see the
Irish Studies General Reference page. For questions or comments, contact
Kathy Williams: email@example.com and Beth
Sweeney: firstname.lastname@example.org .
Irish & Irish-American Newspapers at O'Neill Library
A list of Irish and Irish-American newspapers to which the O'Neill Library
currently subscribes, with their respective web site. For a complete list
of Irish and Irish-American newspaper and journal titles at Boston College see
Irish Serials in the Boston College
Libraries, or check Quest
for most individual or series titles.
- Belfast News Letter Internet
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe 1/13/1997 to the present.
- Published daily Monday through Saturday. The paper was established in 1737
and is the oldest English language general daily newspaper in the world. O'Neill
has Belfast News-letter and General Advertiser 1738-1769 in
microfilm, and the paper under the newer title, Belfast News-letter,
1769-1800, January 1968-December 1998 on microfilm.
- Belfast Telegraph (O'Neill Library: Current Periodicals
Area) Internet Access:
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe and
- Published Monday through Saturday since 1869. O'Neill has January 1968-
to January 2003 on microfilm.
- Boston Irish Reporter (O'Neill Library: Current Periodicals
Area) Internet Access: Ethnic
NewsWatch and Boston Irish Reporter
- Published monthly since 1990. O'Neill keeps only the current year.
Past years are archived at the Burns Library. Ask Burns reference
librarian about access to past issues.
- Derry Journal (O'Neill Library: Current Periodicals Area)
Internet Access: online version Derry Today
- Published daily since 1880. O'Neill has 1957-1997 on microfilm, and the
current six months in hard copy.
- Foinse (O'Neill Library: Current Periodicals Area)
- A weekly Irish language newspaper that covers topics of national interest.
O'Neill Library has the current year's issues. The paper aims to provide high
quality Irish language journalism in a manner that is easy to read. It publishes
a popular education supplement during the Irish school year, Foinse
sa Rang, which serves as a learning or teaching tool for people with moderate
skills in the Irish language.
- Sunday Independent/Irish Independent Internet access: Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe. Access to most articles from September 13, 1997 -present. ProQuest Newspaper Direct Press Display Most recent two months available.
- Irish News (Belfast) (O'Neill Library: Current Periodicals
Area; O'Neill Library keeps the current 3 months in hardcopy)
- Published Monday through Saturday since 1892.
- Irish Times (Dublin)Internet access:
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe. Most articles going back to June 1, 1992 are available in full-text; ProQuest Newspaper Direct Press Display Most recent two months available.
- Published daily since 1859. O'Neill holds 1859-2006 on microfilm.
- Irish Voice (New York) (O'Neill Library:
Current Periodicals Area) Internet Access:
- Published weekly since 1987. O'Neill keeps the current six months in hard
- Sunday Tribune (Dublin) (O'Neill Library: Current Periodicals
- Published weekly since 1980. O'Neill keeps the current three months in hard
[Top of Page]
Online News Sources
Current News Databases (BC Community Only)
Hub (Irish News and Information)
[Top of Page]
Historical Irish Newspapers
Sources for Irish Newspaper Titles
- British Library. Newspaper Library.
Catalogue of the Newspaper Library, Colindale. (Volume 2. England
and Wales: Scotland: Ireland ) London: British Museum
Publications Ltd. for the British Library Board, 1975. (O'Neill Library:
Ref. PN4731 .B855 1975a)
- Catalogue lists titles of daily and weekly newspapers and periodicals. Irish
newspaper titles are from about 1700 onward.
- Irish Serials in the Boston
- This searchable database includes individual titles for newspapers included
in different microform series, such as Irish Political and Radical Newspapers,
20th Century and Northern Ireland Political Literature .
Each entry in the database displays the titles and dates available at the
O'Neill or Burns Libraries.
- Legg, Marie-Louise. Ireland : Politics
and Society through the Press, 1760-1922 (O'Neill Library: Microforms
Ref. Area PN5143.I78 guide)
- This guide to the collection lists the Irish newspaper titles and the holdings
included on each reel of microfilm.
- Legg, Marie-Louise. Newspapers and Nationalism: The Irish Provincial
Press 1850-1892. Dublin: Four Courts, 1999. (O'Neill Library: PN5144.L44
1999; Burns Library: PN5144.L44 1999 IRISH)
- A listing of Irish Provincial Newspapers in Print, 1850-92 appears in the
appendix. This list is especially interesting as it lists titles that are
not included in O'Toole's Newsplan.
- National Library of Ireland
Newsplan Online Database
- This searchable database of Irish newspapers lists files currently held
by the National Library of Ireland, the British Library, public libraries,
universities, archives and newspaper offices.
- Online Access to
the British Library Newspaper Catalog
- The British Library·s Newspaper Library online catalog, including
entries for over 52,0000 newspaper and periodical titles, contains many Irish
provincial newspaper titles. Among the library's collections are UK national
daily and Sunday newspapers from 1801 to the present, and a wide range of
UK and Irish popular periodicals.
- O'Toole, James. Newsplan : Report of the Newsplan Project
in Ireland. London: British Library,
1992. (O'Neill Library: Ref. PN5144.O84x 1992)
- Locates archivally known copies of Irish newspapers.
- Quest Online Catalog.
Search Quest, the libraries' online catalog for newspaper titles, holdings
information and location in the Boston College Libraries.
North, John S. The Waterloo Directory of
Irish Newspapers and Periodicals. Waterloo , Ont.: North Waterloo
Academic Press, c1986. (O'Neill Library: Ref. PN5144.W2 1986)
- This is an "alphabetical listing and description of publications in
Ireland in all fields" published with varying frequency (daily, weekly,
monthly, annually). Includes subject, personal name, and place indexes.
[Top of Page]
Go to Irish Studies General
« back to Research Guides
Last Revised: January 29, 2007