House Business
Office of the Clerk
Public/Visitor Information
Ressources en francais
Youth Parliament
Just for Kids

Members of the 15th Assembly

Jackson Lafferty
MLA, Monfwi

Jackson Lafferty was elected to the 15 th Legislative Assembly in a by-election on July 18, 2005.

Born in Rae on October 9, 1969, Mr. Lafferty lived there until he moved to Yellowknife in 2003, where he currently resides.

Prior to being elected to the 15 th Assembly, Mr. Lafferty worked as a Superintendent of Participation Agreements with Diavik Diamond Mines Inc. Other previous work experience includes, Community Development & Empowerment Coordinator for the GNWT, Administrator for the Rae-Edzo School Society, Assistant Manager for the Rae-Edzo Dene Band Development Corporation, and Community Liaison for Diavik Diamond Mines Inc.

Mr. Lafferty has served on various boards and agencies including the Board of Governors for Aurora College, the Board of Directors for the Metis Dene Development Fund, Chairperson of the Dogrib Community Services Board, Chairperson of the Dogrib Post-Secondary Scholarship Fund and Band Councilor for the Dogrib Rae Band.

Jackson graduated from Sir John Franklin High School in Yellowknife. He attended Red Deer College and the University of Lethbridge to advance his skills in Business and Community Development. He is currently enrolled in the Executive Leadership program through the Banff School of Management and is completing a Management Degree program through Athabasca University.

Mr. Lafferty’s family consists of his wife Dianne and five beautiful children, two boys, Jayde and Ty and three girls, Cheyenne, Sahara, and Denae.

His hobbies and interests include, being on the land, canoeing, reading, golfing, sports, and spending time with his family.

Contact Information  -  click here for full Assembly Telephone Directory

Members Office
Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories
PO Box 1320
Yellowknife, NT X1A 2L9
Telephone:  (867) 669 2272
Fax: (867) 669 2223 
Toll Free: 1(800) 661-0784