John Turner

John Turner

Member for Myall Lakes

  • Shadow Minister for Lands
  • Shadow Minister for Mineral Resources

About John Turner

Guided and informed by his constituents, John Turner is a driven member of The Nationals, and has persisted against the prolonged period of the Carr-Iemma Labor Government. John has been the Member for Myall Lakes since 1988, and has led the campaign in improving and extending the services available to his electorate.

John’s personal journey in politics began with his membership of the National Party in 1983 and continued to strengthen when he became a Member of the National Party Central Council from 1985-1988 and again since 1999.

John's career in State Parliament is extensive, with his experience unmistakable from both the type and amount of portfolios he has held over the last 18 years. His leadership qualities were shown as Deputy Leader of the National Party from 1999 – 2003. John has been the Shadow Minister for Tourism in 2005, Shadow Minister for Sport and Recreation in 2005, Shadow Minister for Roads and Tourism 1999-2003, Shadow Minister for Fair Trading, Mineral Resources and Fisheries and Hunter Water 1996-1999, Shadow Minister for Local Government and Hunter Development in 1996, Deputy Speaker and Chairman of Committees, Temporary Chairman of Committees and Chairman of the Ombudsman Parliamentary Committee.

As a solicitor and tax agent, John was able to recognise that better opportunities and community input are essential to the success of an electorate, which he has put into place in Myall Lakes. John has a Bachelor of Letters from Deakin University, VIC, and a Bachelor of Arts with a Politics Major from Murdoch University, WA, both achieved whilst in Parliament. He also holds a Dip. Law (SAB).

Born in 1949, John has strong family foundations, and is married with three children. When not liaising with community leaders, John is a dedicated sportsman, with interests in rugby, tennis, golf and surfing.

About the Myall Lakes Electorate

On the State’s Mid North Coast, Myall Lakes Electorate covers 8,017.43 sq km and has a predicted elector quota of 49,063 voters at the 2007 Election.

Major towns include Bulahdelah, Forster, Hallidays Point, Old Bar, SmithsLake, Taree, and Tuncurry; since the 2007 election the towns of Wingham, Mount George and Cundletown have been added to the electorate.

Contact Details:

Ph: 02 6555 4099
Fax: 02 6555 4780

Office: Room F6, Bridgepoint Bldg 1-5 Manning Street TUNCURRY NSW 2428

Post: PO Box 272 TUNCURRY NSW 2428


Disclaimer and Privacy Policy. © 2007 The Nationals NSW. Authorised by Alison Penfold, NSW State Director.