©AMPAS® Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
Home Academy Awards Events Press Site Map/Search
Press Area  

June 28, 2005
CONTACT: Leslie Unger - (310) 247-3000

Academy to Salute Don Siegel with “Invasion of the Body Snatchers”

Oscar® Winners Clint Eastwood and Curtis Hanson to Discuss Siegel’s Films

Beverly Hills, CA — The career of director Don Siegel will be celebrated by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences on Wednesday, July 20, at 8 p.m. in the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater, with a screening of the original “Invasion of the Body Snatchers,” the science fiction cult favorite Siegel directed in 1956. Prior to the screening, Clint Eastwood and Curtis Hanson will discuss Siegel’s work and its influence on each of them as filmmakers.

Siegel, who died in 1991, possessed a unique storytelling voice that was evident in his early low-budget pictures such as “Private Hell 36” and “Hell is for Heroes.” In the late 1960s, he began a fruitful collaboration with Eastwood that resulted in “Coogan’s Bluff” (1968), “Two Mules for Sister Sara” (1970), “The Beguiled” (1971), “Dirty Harry” (1971) and “Escape from Alcatraz” (1979). Siegel’s other directorial credits include “Charley Varrick” (1973, with Walter Matthau and Joe Don Baker) “The Shootist” (1976, with John Wayne, Lauren Bacall, Ron Howard and James Stewart), “Telefon” (1977, with Charles Bronson, Lee Remick and Donald Pleasance) and “Rough Cut” (1980, with Burt Reynolds, Lesley-Anne Down and David Niven).

“Invasion of the Body Snatchers” is a superbly crafted parable of Cold War hysteria. In it, Miles (Kevin McCarthy) and Becky (Dana Wynter) run for their lives when they discover that half the population of their town has been replaced by pod people – exact physical replicas of each individual. The film was produced by Walter Wanger; the screenplay was written by Daniel Mainwaring.

The print to be screened is one newly struck by Paramount Pictures.

Eastwood has earned four Oscar statuettes as director and producer of Best Picture winners “Unforgiven” and “Million Dollar Baby.” He earned nominations for his performances in both of those films, as well as for directing and producing “Mystic River.” In 1994, he received the Academy’s Irving G. Thalberg Award. It was Eastwood who selected “Invasion of the Body Snatchers” for this event, noting that it represented the qualities he most admires throughout Siegel’s body of work.

Hanson won the Academy Award® for the screenplay of “L.A. Confidential.” He also was nominated as that Best Picture nominee’s producer and as its director.

“An Academy Salute to Don Siegel” is presented in association with the UCLA Film and Television Archive and serves as the kick-off for a retrospective screening series of Siegel’s work at UCLA. For information about the series, visit www.cinema.ucla.edu or call (310) 206-8013.

Tickets for “An Academy Salute to Don Siegel” go on sale July 1 for $5 for the general public and $3 for Academy members. They may be purchased in advance by mail or during regular business hours at the Academy (9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday), or if still available, on the night of the event when the doors open at 7 p.m. The Academy is located at 8949 Wilshire Boulevard in Beverly Hills. For more information call (310) 247-3600. Please note the Academy will be closed Monday, July 4, in observance of Independence Day.



# # #
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
8949 Wilshire Boulevard Beverly Hills, CA 90211-1972
(310) 247-3000


© Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences