The Catchment

Latest News

CMA Contacts

CMA Contacts




New South Wales State Government
Catchment Management Authority

The Catchment

The Lachlan catchment covers an area of approximately 84,700 km2 and has a population greater than 100,000 people producing 14% of NSW agricultural production. The catchment encompasses 24 local government areas.

The Lachlan Catchment is located in central western New South Wales, flanked by the Macquarie and Bogan catchments to the north and Darling to the west, Murrumbidgee to the south and the Sydney/Shoalhaven Basin to the east.

The Lachlan River rises near gunning and terminates in the great Cumbung Swamp near Oxley, 1450 river kilometres to the west. Major tributaries of the Lachlan include the Abercrombie, Boorowa, Belubula and Crookwell Rivers which join the

The Lachlan Catchment falls predominantly within the Wiradjuri Aboriginal tribal area. The rivers were very important routes providing food, water and shelter.

The main dam regulating flows in the Lachlan River is Wyangala Dam, which has a capacity of 1,220,000 megalitres and is located at the junction of the Lachlan and Abercrombie Rivers. The Belubula River is regulated by Carcoar Dam, has a capacity 36,000 megalitres and located about 10 kilometres downstream of Blayney.

There are numerous weirs along the length of the Lachlan River including, Nanami, Cottons, Jemalong, Booberoi, Lake Cargelligo, Lake Brewster, Willandra, Gonowlia, Hillston, Whealbah, Torriganny and Booligal.

The geological formations throughout the catchment are quite complex and have a significant impact on salinity. The soil types throughout the catchment vary considerably ranging from very robust, durable soils to very fragile soils, naturally acidic and sodic soils. This variability requires effective management for erosion control, nutrient and salinity management.


Map: Lachlan CMA area 

The Catchment | Latest News | CMA Contacts | Publications| Links Faq's| Home
ServiceNSW | Disclaimer
© Lachlan - CMA