Blue Wave graphic
NSW Ministry for the Arts logo
  Home | Contact | About us | News | Grants | Apply Links | Search


previous pagenext page




  Fellowships header pic  


Dean Walsh pic


Indigenous Arts Fellowship pic

Left: winner of the Indigenous Arts Fellowship, Jonathan Jones (centre) with members of the Indigenous Arts Reference Group (photo David Jenkins). Far left: Dean Walsh, winner of the Robert Helpmann Dance Scholarship.


NSW Premier’s History Awards 2001

Winners of the 2001 NSW Premier’s History Awards were announced on 17 September, during History Week, which is coordinated by the History Council of New South Wales. The awards were presented by the Premier at a dinner held at Government House, Sydney. The History Awards address was to have been given by North American documentary filmmaker Ken Burns, but in the aftermath of the attack on the World Trade Center on September 11, he was unable to fly to Australia. The 2001 NSW History Fellowship was presented during the course of the evening.

There were 232 entries in the history awards, and the winners received a total of $75,000 in prize money. The NSW Centenary of Federation Committee generously sponsored the Centenary of Federation prize, a one-off award intended to recognize a major work which contributed to the understanding of the political, social and cultural issues of Australia, particularly in relation to the Federation period. The award winners were as follows.

Centenary of Federation Prize ($15,000)

Geoffrey Bolton, Edmund Barton (Allen & Unwin Pty Ltd).

Australian History Prize ($15,000)

Tim Bonyhady, The Colonial Earth (The Miegunyah Press at Melbourne University Press).

General History Prize ($15,000)

Rowena Lennox, Fighting Spirit of East Timor: The life of Martinho da Costa Lopes (Pluto Press Australia).

Community and Regional History Prize ($15,000)

Carolyn Wadley Dowley, Through Silent Country (Fremantle Arts Centre Press).

Children’s History Prize ($15,000)

Not awarded, on the recommendation of the judges.

Audio/Visual History Prize ($15,000)

Michael Cummins, Thomson of Arnhem Land (Film Australia in association with John Moore, Martin Thiele, and Michael McMahon).

NSW Premier’s Literary Awards 2002

The 23rd annual Premier’s Literary Awards were presented at a dinner hosted by the Premier at Parliament House on 27 May, at the start of the Sydney Writers’ Festival. The Literary Awards address, ‘On Readers’ Rewards and Writers’ Awards’, was given by the distinguished scholar and author Pierre Ryckmans (‘Simon Leys’).

In 2002 there were 605 entries in the literary awards. Winners received a total of $142,000, including the $5,000 prize for literary and cultural criticism sponsored by Gleebooks and the $15,000 award sponsored by the Community Relations Commission for a Multicultural NSW. The winners were as follows.

Christina Stead Prize for Fiction ($20,000)

Tim Winton, Dirt Music (Pan Macmillan Australia Pty Ltd).

Douglas Stewart Prize for Non-fiction ($20,000)

Gail Bell, The Poison Principle (Pan Macmillan Australia Pty Ltd).

Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry ($15,000)

Alan Wearne, The Lovemakers (Penguin Books Australia Ltd).

Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children’s Literature ($15,000)

Shaun Tan, The Red Tree (Lothian Books).

Ethel Turner Prize for Young People’s Literature ($15,000)

Anthony Hill, Soldier Boy: The true story of Jim Martin, the youngest Anzac (Penguin Books Australia Ltd).

Community Relations Commission Award (formerly the Ethnic Affairs Commission Award — $15,000)

Loretta Baldassar, Visits Home: Migration experiences between Italy and Australia (Melbourne University Press).

Play Award ($15,000)

John Romeril, Miss Tanaka (Playbox Theatre Company/Currency Press).

Script Writing Award ($15,000)

Safina Uberoi, My Mother India (Chili Films Pty Ltd/Australian Film Finance Corporation/SBS Independent).

Gleebooks Prize ($5,000)

Peter Mares, Borderline: Australia’s treatment of refugees and asylum seekers (University of New South Wales Press Ltd).

Book of the Year ($2,000)

Alan Wearne, The Lovemakers (Penguin Books Australia Ltd).

Special Award ($5,000)

Thea Astley, AO.

NSW Premier’s Translation Prize (biennial — $5,000) and PEN Medallion

No award this year.

Other Fellowships, Scholarships and Awards

Robert Helpmann Dance Scholarship ($15,000)

Dean Walsh, to develop his skills in choreography and group movement by working with internationally recognized choreographers Lloyd Newson of DV8 in London and Paul Selwyn Norton in the Netherlands.

NSW History Fellowship ($20,000)

Leonard Janiszewski, to research a history of the Greek café in New South Wales.

NSW Indigenous History Fellowship (biennial — $20,000)

No award this year.

NSW Writer’s Fellowship ($20,000)

Bem Le Hunte, to write the story of Jewish wartime refugees who fled Poland for Calcutta.

David Paul Landa Memorial Scholarship for Pianists (biennial — $25,000)

No award this year.

Rex Cramphorn Theatre Scholarship (biennial — $15,000)

No award this year.

Helen Lempriere Travelling Art Scholarship ($40,000)

Not awarded in financial year.

NSW Indigenous Arts Fellowship (biennial $15,000)

Jonathan Jones, to produce a limited-edition artist’s book (and subsequent journal versions) of his installation work, which maps the symbiotic relationship between communities and individuals from a contemporary urban Indigenous perspective.

Western Sydney Artists’ Fellowships ($25,000 each)

Peter Charuk, to explore issues of male identity in Men’s Work (IV): Cabinet of curiosities; Elizabeth Mifsud, to produce a set of continuous colour mural landscape photographs, Fugitive Ground; and Justene Williams, to use digital imaging technology to explore the role of the car in Western Sydney communities.

Women and Arts Fellowship (biennial — $30,000)

Jointly, visual artist Lindy Lee, to travel to China and Japan to research ideas concerning ancestral and spiritual lineages; and Suneeta Peres da Costa, to work on a novel about refugees, immigration and exile set in contemporary Sydney.

2002 Asialink Residencies

As part of the Ministry’s small international program, annual support is provided for Asialink residencies attached to major art institutions in Asian countries for up to four months to facilitate opportunities for local artists to participate in overseas markets and international cultural exchange.


Beth Yahp, residency at De La Salle University, The Philippines, March — June 2002, to work on the second in a trilogy of books, The Beautiful Hour, based around the themes of migration, ‘otherness’, storytelling, inheritance, magic and thievery.

Performing Arts

Tony Strachan, residency with Arts with the Disabled Association, Hong Kong, November and December 2002, to work with the six deaf actors of Theatre of Silence to develop a theatre work on life around the South China Sea, using physical, gestural and visual performance modes.

Visual Arts

Joan Grounds, residency with artist NS Harsha, Mysore, India, January — March 2003, to continue an artistic dialogue between the two artists in which they will collaborate to exhibit and video-document their work together.

Arts Management

Gavin Robins, residency with Arts with the Disabled Association/Ballet Philippines, The Philippines, December 2001, April 2002 and October — November 2002, to work on a co-production with The Yoga Foundation of the Philippines based in Manila, instigating the teaching and training of yoga and physical theatre skills to members of the Barangay ghetto community to create a physical performance that will seek to combine the stories of the ghetto with chosen tales from epic Hindu dramas from India.






previous pagecontentsindex next page