An Australian Government Initiative
Australian National Herbarium  
Australian National Botanic Gardens  
Australian Biological Resources Study  
Centrre for Plant Biodiversity Research

Home > CPBR | ANBG > Botanical Databases > APNI


Australian Plant Name Index

The Australian Plant Name Index (APNI) is a list of all published names of Australian vascular plants and their bibliographic and typification details.

There is a facility to search for records in the active database that have a particular name or match a particular pattern. The pattern matching is based on the SQL database conventions, so that the character "%" is a wildcard for any string of characters and "_" is a wildcard for a single character.

The APNI database also contains the name records of the Census of Australian Vascular Plants (CAVP). CAVP names are flagged in APNI under the heading "Census". A "Y" indicates that the name is a currently accepted name; an "N" indicates that the name is not currently accepted.

The web versions of APNI are not case-sensitive and a trailing wild-card is assumed.

The distribution by state and by region within state follows the published version of the CAVP.

There is also click to use WIN What's Its Name? – a simplified and concise database of plant names and name changes for Australia.


Longer Introduction to the Australian Plant Name Index (APNI)

Search (Full Listing) the Australian Plant Name Index (APNI)

Search (Names Only) the Australian Plant Name Index (APNI)


Warning ! Be careful!
Queries to the database may return very large files.
Warning !

Updated 29 November, 2005 by webmaster (cpbr-info@anbg.gov.au)
Australia map