Skip navigation

Charles Firth (left), Julian Morrow, Andrew Hansen, Craig Reucassel, Chas Licciardello and Chris Taylor

Chaser history

In a few short years, 'The Chaser' has become a satirical media empire, which rivals Rupert Murdoch's News Corporation in all fields except power, influence, popularity and profitability.

'The Chaser' was founded in 1999 as a fortnightly, satirical newspaper produced out of a spare bedroom by Charles Firth, Dominic Knight, Julian Morrow and Craig Reucassel, who were later joined by Chas Licciardello and Chris Taylor.

From those humble beginnings, the Chaser team has lost its humility. It has also produced comedy in all major media, including print, online, radio and television.

Since 1999, 'The Chaser' has flaunted defamation and insolvency laws to produce more than 85 editions of the newspaper. In over five years of publishing, 'The Chaser' has lived up to its motto 'Striving for Mediocrity in a World of Excellence'.

Andrew Denton was the Chaser team's Johnny Young, bringing them onto television at the ABC with 'The Election Chaser' (2001), 'CNNNN' (2002) and 'CNNNN Live' (2003), which together have lost a host of Australian and international TV comedy awards.

They received nominations for Most Outstanding TV Comedy at the Logies in 2001 and 2002; AFI for Best TV Screenplay and Best TV Comedy in 2002, and The Rose D’Or for Best Comedy at the Festival for Entertainment Programming, in N Lucerne Switzerland in 2003 and 2004.

Their credibility-building run of losses ended in 2004, when 'CNNNN' tied with 'Kath & Kim' to win the Logie for Most Outstanding TV Comedy.