Web Sitemap | Search | A-Z Index | Contacts | Bulletins | Campus Maps | Events
   Information For > Prospective Students | International Students | Current Students | Visitors | Staff | Jobs at JCU
Information About > The University | Research | Teaching | Courses & Degrees | Faculties & Divisions | Library & Computing


The JCU Halls of Residence was formed on 1 January 2001 to centralise control of the University's own residential Halls, University Hall, Western Hall and Rotary International House.

From February 2002 the addition of 250 beds at George Roberts Hall established JCU Halls of Residence as one of the largest fully-catered University Halls in Australia.

In 2004, the accommodation offered by JCU Halls of Residence increased further with the addition of 80 beds at Rotary International House.

The JCU Halls of Residence comprise:

University Hall

In 1961 the University College of Townsville opened two residences – Dungragan for women and Stuart House for men. A third, Olsen House for men, opened in 1964.

All three closed in the late ‘60s to become University Hall, which was the first residence to open on the new Douglas campus.

Prime Minister Mr Harold Holt laid the Foundation Stone in July 1966. ‘A’ wing and the facilities building opened at the start of 1967 and ‘B’ wing in 1968. The Townhouse complex began in 1986 and comprises five buildings.

Professor G.N. Richards was Warden from 1968 to 1985, Dr John Mayo from 1985 to 1999, and the last Senior Head (previously known as Warden) was Mr Bruce Knight who was also the Head of College for Rotary International House until 2001.

Currently there are 288 students in residence, making University Hall the largest, as well as the oldest, student residence on campus.

Western Hall

Originally part of the Townsville Teachers’ College in 1970, this complex became Western Residential Hall in 1981 when the Townsville College of Advanced Education was absorbed by the James Cook University.

The Warden from 1972 to 1983 was Mr John Heath who was then succeeded by Mr Alwyn Richardson (previously the Principal of Olsen House 1964-66 and Deputy Warden University Hall 1967-82).

Western Hall amalgamated with University Hall from the start of 1990 to form the then University Halls of Residence, now known as JCU Halls of Residence. With accommodation for 215 students, Western Hall is the third largest residence at the University.

George Roberts Hall

George Roberts Hall was named after George Vivian Roberts, CBE, a fifth generation Townsville solicitor. Mr Roberts has not only been generous with his time in support of the University, he was actively involved in the push for a University in North Queensland, and contributes to a Bursary offered to a resident once a year.

Partially completed for second semester 2001, the hall opened for the academic year 2002 with 250 residents in unit style accommodation. Each unit consists of either three or four bedrooms located around an air-conditioned lounge and kitchenette and include modern bathroom facilities.

Rotary International House

Opened in 1990, Rotary was the smallest residence on campus with a maximum of 38 residents in two adjacent buildings. Rotary was established with the generous assistance of Rotary Clubs and is still ably assisted with project work by local clubs. Rotary was established and continues as a self-catering residence.

As the name suggests, English is spoken as a second, or sometimes third, language for at least 60% of residents of Rotary International House.

The Warden from 1991 to 2001 was Mr Bruce Knight. Rotary International House amalgamated with University Hall and Western Hall in 2001.

Our latest expansion in 2004 adds a further 80 beds to the accommodation offered at JCU Halls of Residence.