Warren High Schools' Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame

Board of EducationAdministrationSchoolsDistrict CalendarDistrict InformationContact UsSite MapHome

For a copy
of our District newsletter, call 330-841-2321, ext. 227

The 15th anniversary of the Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame program is slated for May 3, 2008. During the event, guests will be treated to a last look and walk-thru of Warren G. Harding High School before its demolition in the summer of 2008. More details to follow.

The Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame was the brainchild of Frank Calvin.  He and then-Superintendent Louis Cardamone formed a committee of school personnel and community leaders to develop the Warren High Schools’ Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame.  Original committee members were Frank Calvin, Louis Cardamone, Rozen Patterson (Lymor), the late Frank Bubba, Audrey Freeman, Scott Lehman, Myrtle Angel, the late Augusta Barrick, Martha Ellers and Suzanne Fowley. The first induction banquet was held in 1993.

Inaugural Class of Inductees – 1993
Augusta Barrick (Honorary)
Wilson Binger

Charles J. Foley, Jr.
Eli Goldston
Janis Reed Hopkins Trachtman
Dr. Myron Lotz
Judge Robert A. Nader
Irene Oliver
Ronald Parise
Jeffery D. Taft
Michael G. Verich

The newest group of inductees will join such well-known alumni as Harriet Taylor Upton (leader for women’s suffrage), Earl Derr Biggers (creator of Charlie Chan), Bill White (former National League baseball commissioner), Roger Ailes (president and CEO of Fox News Network), John Ness Beck (internationally known writer of religious music), Irene Oliver (internationally known opera star), Michael Capellas (current CEO of WorldCom), Ronald Parise (former astronaut), Kenneth Patchen (internationally acclaimed poet), Alex Machaskee (recently retired editor and publisher of the Cleveland Plain Dealer) and John Payiavlas (local community leader and founder of AVI).

2007 Inductees
The eleven inductees of the Class of 2007 will join 134 current members of the Hall of Fame.  This will be the 15th induction banquet honoring distinguished alumni of Harding, Warren High School and Western Reserve.  This year marks the initial presentation of a special Hall of Fame Scholarship. The HOF also honors the top students of grades 10, 11 and 12 with a monetary reward, and the names of each year’s valedictorian and salutatorian are engraved on a permanent plaque at Warren G. Harding High School.

Cecil B. Brown (Deceased)
Distinguished Journalist: Recipient of the Best Reporter Award and has a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. WHS, 1925.

Clyde Cole, Jr. (Deceased)
Community Business Leader & Activist: President of Clyde Cole Cadillac and past president/charter member of Trumbull 100. WGH, 1949.

D. James Economos (Ohio)
Community Businessman: Owner of Saratoga Restaurant, active in many local civic groups including Mobile Meals, Warren Football Assn., St. Demetrios Church. WGH, 1956.

Elizabeth Ellers (Virginia)
Sr. VP of Brand Development and Consumer Research at AOL. WGH, 1977.

Paul Kowalczyk (Colorado)
Director of Athletics at Colorado State University. WGH, 1976.

James P. Oliver,
J.D. (Ohio)
Sr. Partner in the Cleveland-based law firm of Squire, Sanders and Dempsey. WGH, 1962.

Margret Ginzler Robb, J.D. (Indiana)
Governor-appointed Judge to the Indiana Court of Appeals. WGH, 1966.

George V. Sabol, Ph.D. (Arizona)
Principal at Stantex Consulting, an international engineering & environmental consulting firm. WGH, 1964.

William C. Swope, Ph.D. (California)
Scientific Researcher in computational chemistry at IBM. WWR 1971.

John L. Zabrucky (California)
CEO of Modern Props, a movie prop/design company. WGH, 1965.

C. David Zoba,
J.D. (Ohio)
Principal and COO of Steiner & Associates, a leading developer of new town center projects. WWR, 1969.





  ©Warren City Schools
Warren Board of Education
261 Monroe, NW, Warren, OH 44483
Phone: 330-841-2321  Fax: 330-841-2434