Oklahoma Sooners


Stoops is a Robinson Finalist

NORMAN, Okla. -- Oklahoma head coach Bob Stoops is one of nine finalists for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award. The honor is voted on annually by the Football Writers Association of America.
Other finalists include Arkansas’ Houston Nutt, Rutgers’ Greg Schiano, Wake Forest’s Jim Grobe, Houston’s Art Briles, Hawaii’s June Jones, Michigan’s Lloyd Carr, BYU’s Bronco Mendenhall and Boise State’s Chris Petersen.
The finalists will be placed on a ballot which will be sent out to the entire FWAA membership by e-mail. FWAA members will be asked to vote for their top three choices in the order they are deserving.
The FWAA Coaching Award is named after Robinson, a coaching legend at Grambling State University for 55 years. He has more Division I victories (408) than any other coach. The winner of the FWAA/Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award will be announced and honored at a reception on Jan. 5 in Glendale, Ariz., in conjunction with the BCS 1-2 game.
Stoops' Sooners, who won seven straight to nab the Big 12 South Division title, will be playing in the Big 12 title game against Nebraska despite losing their starting quarterback and top running back during the course of the season.
Of the nine candidates, only Stoops is a previous winner. He won the Eddie in 2000, the same season his Sooners won the FWAA’s Grantland Rice Trophy, symbolic of the national championship.

Oklahoma All-Access - Launch Broadband Channel
View more videos