It's Understood - 1999
Buck Fever - 2001
Quadropus - 2003
Passion for Life - 2004

Picture of Estradasphere
Official artist site:

It's Understood
Mimicry Records

Estradasphere's debut album is a hodgepodge of extremely varied influences ranging from metal to jazz to video game music, with a hefty dose of Balkan, gypsy and klezmer folk idioms thrown into the cauldron. Surprisingly, the mix works remarkably well most of the time, not unlike Mr Bungle's sonic experiments, and makes for a very exciting ride. The multi-instrumentalist band members' tremendous musicianship shines in such hyperactive numbers as "The Trials and Tribulations of Parking on Your Front Lawn" and "Danse of Tosho & Slavi/Randy's Desert Adventure". This Fregoli of an album switches genres and time signatures more often than 1930s Italy changed governments, but never does the music become a vehicle for showy virtuosity, as a strong sense of fun and unbridled ribaldry permeates the record from start to finish.

While not quite as cohesive and lushly produced as its follow-up (Buck Fever), this album is one of the most impressive debuts I have had the pleasure to hear in years. Absolutely recommended.

Review by Rog The Frog Billerey-Mosier

Review date: 03/2002

Back to top 

Estradasphere - It's Understood

1. Hunger Strike
2. Cloud Land
3. The Transformation
4. Danse Of Tosho & Slavi/Randy's Desert Adventure
5. The Trials And Tribulations Of Parking On Your Front Lawn
6. The Princes
7. Los Dias Sin Dias
8. XQuiQ
9. Hunnahpu & Xbalanque
10. Spreading The Disease
11. Planet Sparkle/Court Yard Battle 1
12. Db Hell

Buck Fever
Mimicry Records

After a debut album that took the underground by storm, and for good reason, the eclectic NoCal outfit Estradasphere returns with another collection of Zappa-esquely varied songs spanning almost every musical genre invented since early homo sapiens individuals first blew into hollow branches recreationally. Ska basslines and horn arrangements alternate with all-out symphonic black metal ("The Silent Elk Of Yesterday"), video game music, surf rock, central European folk, straight-ahead jazz ("Super Buck II"), various metal subgenres, and too many other stylistic allusions to mention in a review. Their evident kinship with Mr Bungle (whose guitarist, Trey Spruance, signed Estradasphere to his record label) is most apparent in the complex "Meteorite Showers", but the band has a very distinct personality, which shines through in gems such as the metally "Millennium Child" (with Basque-folk-cum-lounge sounding vocals), "Buck Fever" and "A Very Intense Battle".

Anyone interested in Mr Bungle, Frank Zappa or John Zorn would be well-served by purchasing half a dozen copies of this album to spin simultaneously throughout their abode so as not to miss a second of it.

Review by Rog The Frog Billerey-Mosier

Review date: 03/2002

Back to top 

Estradasphere - Buck Fever

1. Buck Fever
2. The Dapper Bandits
3. The Silent Elk Of Yesterday
4. Crag Lake
5. Meteorite Showers
6. The Bounty Hunter
7. Super Buck II
8. Millennium Child
9. Trampoline Klan
10. Burnt Corpse
11. Rise N' Shine (epic Doobie Nightmare #1)
12. The Bride Of The Buck
13. A Very Intense Battle
14. Green Hill
15. Jove Malle De Mone/ Feed Your Mama's Meter (remix 2001)
16. What Deers May Come

Send discography updates