Home   Player Profiles   Latest News   Contact Us   Registration   Play


This space available
for advertisers.

Click here for details.

Back To List

Waterford Upset Clare

Sunday, May 20

Waterford's footballers broke a 19-year run without a Championship win when they surprised Clare in the first round of the Munster Championship at Fraher Park in Dungarvan.

Neither side managed a score for 23 minutes after that in a very scrappy and uninspiring first half, but two late frees by Waterford captain Brian Wall left Clare leading by 0-04 to 0-03 at the break.

Another Wall free levelled up the tie early in the second half, before Clare regained the advantage with points from Donnelly and Russell.

But Waterford refused to buckle and Liam O'Lonain's deflected score put the minimum between the sides again, before Ger Power blasted the ball into the net 11 minutes from time to give the Deise the lead.Power then added a fisted point and the hosts never looked back.

Clare: Joe Hayes; Laurance Healy (0-01) Conor Whelan (c) Gordon Kelly; John Hayes, David Russell,(0-02) Greg Lyons; Frank O'Dea, Gary Brennan; David Connole, Enda Coughlan, Martin 'Ogie' Murphy; Evan Talty (0-01), Stephen Hickey (0-01), Rory Donnelly (0-01).

Waterford: Tom Wall; Justin Walsh, Thomas O'Gorman, Shane Briggs; John Phelan, Edmond Rockett, Paul Ogle; Mick Ahern, John Hurney; Brian Wall,(0-03) Gary Hurney, Ger Power (1-01); Wayne Hennessy, Andy Hubbord, (0-01) Liam O'Lonain (0-01).






Rules  |  Terms  |  Privacy  

GaelicSurvival.com is independently monitored, audited and data protection act compliant. © 2007 GaelicSurvival.com

This site has been developed with grant assistance made available by the Tipperary North County Enterprise Board Ltd. funded by the Irish Government and part-financed by the European Union under the National Development Plan, 2000-2006.