Home News Board Of Directors Jim Thorpe Association Staff

The Jim Thorpe Award

Past Winners

2006 - Aaron Ross, Texas

The second consecutive winner from UT, Ross earned unaimous first-team All-Big 12 honors, first-team All-American and earned Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year.
2005 - Michael Huff, Texas

First player in UT history to win the Jim Thorpe Award. Also named the "Defensive MVP" in helping lead Texas to a national championship in the 2006 Rose Bowl.
2004 - Carlos Rogers, Auburn

Carlos helped Auburn to a 13-0 undefeated season, leading the nation in scoring defense. Finalist for the Nagurski Defensive Player of the Year Award and a consensus All-American.
2003 - Derrick Strait, Oklahoma

Set school records for consecutive starts and holds a career interception record of 397 yards. Third Sooner to receive Thorpe Award (Roy Williams and Rickey Dixon). Also received 2003 Bronko Nagurski Trophy.
2002 - Terence Newman, Kansas State

All-American defensive back, consensus Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year. Honorable mention All-American as kick returner.